Saturday 26 May 2018

Laughter for great causes

Pat O’Callaghan of the Camross group
Pat O’Callaghan of the Camross group
Phil Bradley of the Newbawn players
Deccie O'Brien, Aidan Furlong, Phil Bradley, Murt Murphy, Tina Byrne and Charlie Bradley

David Looby

There was but a fig leaf of propriety from comedians at the hilarious Laugh for Hope & Hospice night in the Horse & Hound recently, as entertainers from across the county had the audience in stitches with a wide ranging variety of routines.

The comedy night is now in its sixth year and its appeal was there for all to see in the Ballinaboola hotel on the final of four comedy nights held in Oylegate, Davidstown and Enniscorthy.

Three local communities - the Camross Boys, Marshalstown Drama Group and Newbawn Players - put their talents together to perform some hilarious routines.

The night began with a performance by Green Road, a folk group from the Ballycullane and Bannow areas.

One of the organisers, Charlie Bradley from Newbawn, said: 'Close on 400 people turned up and we raised €5,881 which was fantastic. To date the Wexford Laugh for Hope & Hospice nights have raised €53,000.'

Each group performed three or four madcap routines, echoing the Irish comedic traditions of Mrs Brown's Boys and D'Unbelievables.

A sketch about learning how to speak Chinese from the Camross Boys had the audience falling off their seats laughing. 'It was a brilliant night. We want to thank everyone for coming along, buying a ticket and supporting the raffle. It's good to laugh and after the winter and spring we've had everyone needed a laugh,' Charlie said.

The crowd got involved in the comedy night also. 'People really let themselves go and enjoyed it.'

MC on the night was Des Redmond and the Blackstairs Rebels band rounded off the entertainment.

Charlie thanked everyone who took part and the venues of supporting the fundraiser for Wexford Hospice and the Hope Centre in Enniscorthy.

The comedians were Pat Callaghan, Martin Dunne and Mick Banville (Camross), Jim Morris, Mike Nolan, Evelyn Cogan, Paddy Morris, Dick Butler, Johnny Frayne, Colm Bennett, Eoin Bennett and Ian Murphy (Marshalstown Drama Group) and Phil Bradley, Murty Murphy, Deckie O'Brien, Aidan Furlong, Charlie Bradley, Sean Byrne and Tina Byrne (Newbawn).

New Ross Standard