Monday 17 June 2019

Credit Union art winners get awards

Credit Union Chapter art winners
Credit Union Chapter art winners
Ella Kelly from St. Michael's & St Peter's Arklow. (1st U-7category)
Natalia Czerwinska from CBS, New Ross. (1st 11-13 yrs category)

Brendan Keane

New Ross Credit Union has selected 20 local winners in this year's annual Credit Union Art competition with some of them qualifying to go through to the next round which is the regional stage.

The competition is one of the most popular initiatives organised by the Credit Union movement each year and this year it celebrated its 35th anniversary.

Around 300,000 people enter through 200 different participating branches of the movement across the country.

The local winners who will contest the regional stage of the competition - along with other regional qualifiers from Wexford - will be hoping they make it through as finalists to the national awards ceremony in the New Year.

The local winners were invited to a celebratory event in New Ross Credit Union where they were congratulated on their achievements.

The 20 artists were selected in two categories, General and Special, and included: General category: Under 7: Siun Allen (Clongeen NS); Abbie Gardiner (Clongeen NS) and Emer Noel (Ballycullane NS); Age 8-10: Laoise Kehoe (Marymount NS); Isabella Butler (Clongeen NS) and Johawn Shawn (Bunscoil Ris); Age 11-13: Natalia Czerwinska (CBS Secondary School), Sarah Kinsella (Marymount NS) and Milly Sutton (Scoil Naomh Aine); Age 14-17: Yvonne Lambert (Bunclody Vocational College), Kyla Quirke (CBS Secondary School) and Diarmuid Barry (Good Counsel College); Special category: Under 7: Rhys Power Nolan, Conor Kavanagh , David Kilduff, James Kilduff (all from Clonegal NS); Age 8-10: Ben Priestly, Evan Sweeney, Sam Ronan (all Clonegal NS); Age 11-13: and Ciaran Patrick Murphy (Clonegal NS).

The 25 artists who qualified for the regional stage of the competition include: General category: Under 7: Ella Kelly (St Michael's & St Peter's Arklow); Alan Power (Kilmore NS); Siun Allen (Clongeen NS); Age 8-10: Sofia Kennedy (Caoimhin Naofa Glendalough); Molly Byrne (St Colman's NS, Ballindaggin); Marina Lowney-Loring (St Patrick's, Crossabeg); Age 11-13: Natalia Czerwinska (CBS Secondary, New Ross); Michaela Milling (Coláiste an Átha, Kilmuckridge); Ava Meade (Presentation Secondary School, Wexford); Age 14-17: Yvonne Lambert (Bunclody Vocational College); Amy Lawless (Coláiste an Átha, Kilmuckridge) and Isaiah O'Connor (St Peter's College, Wexford); Age 18 and over: Mary Whelan (St Peter's PLC, Arklow) and Lisa Carty (Woodview Tubberduff, Gsorey); Special category: Under 7: Fergal Ormond (Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford) and Rhys Power-Nolan (Clonegal NS); Age 8-10: Amy Fortune (Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford) and Ben Priestly (Clonegal NS); Age 11-13: Debbie Pitcher (Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford), Ciaran Patrick Murphy (Clonegal NS) and Shay Doran (Scoil Treasa Naofa); Age 14-17: Daniel O'Leary (Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford); Venus Reilly (Gorey), Dean Coughlan (Our Lady of Fatima, Wexford) and Sean Murphy (Cumas New Ross).

New Ross Standard