Tuesday 16 October 2018

Star players awarded at Celtic dinner night

New Ross Celtic 50th anniversary

David Looby

The star players of the past year for New Ross Celtic were honoured at a dinner dance in the Horse & Hound recently.

More than 140 people attended, including many familiar faces from through the years with representatives from the Wexford and district soccer league, the schoolboy league, the schoolgirl league and the referees association.

The master of ceremonies was Dick Butler who started by remembering all the people from the club who were no longer with us. He then made a speech outlining the club's history up to the present day.

Cllr Michael Sheehan praised the club and all its achievements and the contribution they have made through the years,

Wexford and district league Denis Hennessy made a presentation to the club chairman Ken O'Neill and commented in his speech that New Ross Celtic had a great history of achievements through the years, adding that there would be many more.

The following trophies were then presented: top scorer B team Dylan Murphy; top scorer A team Eoin Rhodes; Player of the Year B team Keith Katus, Player of the Year A team jointly between Sean Culleton and Daryl Walsh.

There were presentations to former players with the club as special recognition of there achievements to Greg Bolger and Ryan Delaney who are with Cork and Thomas O'Connor who plays with Southampton.

The club chairman Ken O'Neill presented special merit awards for there contributions to the club to Pat Ronan. Packie O'Neill, the late Mary Butler and Anne St Ledger.

Everyone enjoyed a lovely meal and music afterwards by Suzie Q.

New Ross Standard