Thursday 20 June 2019

Sensational school spirit sees students end year on a high

Year head Deirdre O’Donohoe with Mairéad O’Brien, Student of the Year, and school principal Rachel O’Connor
Year head Deirdre O’Donohoe with Mairéad O’Brien, Student of the Year, and school principal Rachel O’Connor

David Looby

Ramsgrange Community School held their annual awards ceremony in their school on Friday, May 24.

This marked a high point in the school year and over 430 students and their friends and family packed the school gym to hear who won the top awards for work completed throughout the year. Principal Rachel O'Connor opened proceedings with a short welcome speech in which she spoke of her great pride each year on awards day.

She highlighted the school's growing numbers each year as an indication of the high esteem the school is held in locally and thanked the present students and staff for being such great ambassadors in the local community. She also welcomed guests of honour: Tony Dempsey, Mayor of Wexford and former teacher in the school; and former pupil Sarah Kennedy, now Head of Nursing and Health Science at Waterford Institute of Technology.

Awards were given across 63 categories, testament to the many and varied activities which take place throughout the year. Certificates of Achievement were awarded across a variety of areas such as JCSP gardening participants, the catering committee, attendance, poetry, Spelling Bees, Gaisce and debating. The student council of 2018/19 were recognised and thanked for their great work throughout the year as were the outgoing Meitheal leaders.

The first buzz of excitement ripped through the gym as the new Meitheal Team, 2019/20 was announced. Awards were also given across many subjects for best projects in LCVP, Art, Metalwork, Engineering, Wood Technology, DCG, TG, Construction, Needlework, Ag Science, Music and both German and French.

The much-anticipated Sports Awards were up next, starting off with the awarding of the 'Liam Fardy Perpetual Mile Challenge Shield' to William Park, a 1st year who completed the mile in an amazing 5.18, and Sinéad O Loughlin who completed it as the fastest lady in a time of 7.06. Trophies were awarded to best basketball players, male and female, at 1st, 2nd, U16 and Senior, as were trophies for best players in Camogie, Ladies Football, Hurling and Football. Caleb Cullen was presented with a shield for the best Junior Certificate results in 2018, whilst Dylan Hodman got the Best Leaving Certificate Results Shield.

The much-anticipated Junior Sports Person of the Year honours went to Mark Whitty this year for his efforts on both the hurling and football field. The brilliant all-rounder Bryan Culleton was awarded the prestigious Senior Sports Person in recognition of his five years of excellence on the sports fields.

He recently captained the school's Leinster-winning senior hurling team, has played county football, been a stalwart on our athletics team, as well as being a regular on the South East Leinster Rugby Squad. He recently had a Leinster Rugby trial. Outgoing head boy Joseph Hanlon and head girl Nicole Keating spoke to the gathered crowd on their memories of Ramsgrange Community School and gave some parting wisdom to the student cohort. The school's longest-serving member of staff and very popular HSCL teacher, Ann Cadogan, also offered some sage advice to the assembled crowd.

This was followed by one of the highlights of the afternoon, the announcement of the new head boy and head girl for the upcoming year. Sarah Molloy and Eoin Dempsey were popular choices after a hotly contested selection process. Year heads then stepped forward to announce the winners of each year's 'Student of the Year', also presenting the runners up with certificates.

But the highlight of the afternoon was the presenting of the overall Student of the Year Cup. The winner is selected following a student and staff vote. The very popular winner this year was Mairéad O'Brien. Mairéad has been an integral part of the student voice in the school since she first stepped through its doors six years ago. She was chairperson of the student council, where she was always a catalyst for change. She was also a Meitheal leader for the last year and guided first years as they began their time at the school. She was a member of many teams, both sporting and academic, and really does epitomise the holistic nature of the school.


Senior Boys Basketball: Craig Bradley

Senior Girls Basketball: Sarah Molloy

Senior Camogie: Nicole Keating

Senior Ladies Football: Leah Molloy

Senior Football: Owen Whitty

Senior Hurling: James Walsh


Snap Printing Enterprise Cup: Séan Chapman

3rd Year Best Art: Dena Kiss

3rd Year Best Wood Technology: Patrick O Brien and David Cirpaciu

3rd Year Metalwork: Shane Dunne

3rd Year Best Needlework: Sarah Ryan and Rachel Kennedy

6th Year Best Art: Lisa Tobin,

6th Year Best Art History: Leanne Furlong

LCA Art: Daniel Mason

6th Year Engineering: Jacob Ferguson

6th Year Construction: Jason King

6th Year DCG: Jacob Ferguson

6th Year Ag Science: Alison Gibbons

Junior Linguist (French) Clodagh Whitty

Junior Liguist (German): Sorcha Doyle

Senior Linguist (French): Andrew Walsh

1st Year Student of the Year: Rachel Kelly

2nd Year Student of the Year: Isobel Kane

3rd Year Student of the Year: Rachel Kennedy

TY Student of the Year: Palama Paternia

JCSP Student of the Year: Harry McPhillips

LCA Student of the Year: Craig Bradley

5th Year Student of the Year: Julia Orchowska

Head Boy and Head Girl: Eoin Dempsey and Sarah Molloy

Junior Sports Person of the Year: Mark Whitty

Senior Sports Person of the Year: Bryan Culleton

Student of the Year: Mairéad O'Brien

New Ross Standard