Wednesday 20 March 2019

Scouts honoured at investiture

Alex Kelly received the Gold Meritorious award from Dano O’Leary
County Commissioner
Alex Kelly received the Gold Meritorious award from Dano O’Leary County Commissioner
At the investiture in New Ross Scout Hall
A group of Beavers at the investiture in the Scout Hall
Chief scout award winners (front, from left) Mia Bolger Roche, Katie Croarkin Boyce, Daniel Griffen and Dara Mackey with (at back) Barbara Power, Jenna Croarkin, Phil Croarkin, Majella Hennessey and Kitty Warren

David Looby

Tributes were paid to the long service New Ross scout Skipper Alex Kelly has given to the scouts, at one of the biggest scout investiture nights in recent times.

1st Wexford Sea Scouts' awards night was opened by Sé Forristal and Owen Rogers with the Scout Promise. Group Leader Patricia Power welcomed everyone and Beaver Leader Phil Croarkin summarised the Beavers' activities over the past 12 months, which included a visit to the fire station, Garda station, trips to Kelly's Wood, Lacken Wood, JFK Park, participation in Hell & Back, camping with Ballykelly, a scout county event - an emergency skills day, a walk up Brandon Hill and overnight stay with Shielbaggan Adventure centre. Cub Leader Jacintia Hunt described the Cubs' activities over the year, which included swimming pool sessions, orienteering in Woodstock and JFK Aboretum, Winterville overnight, kayaking in Graiguenamanagh, archery, Carrigbyrne hike, two beach clean ups as part of the Cleancoast programme, an overnight in the Heritage Park, Hell & Back, the Graigue Team Triathlon, and camping in IOAC, Tagoat.

The Sea Scout programme was summed up by Skipper Alex Kelly and included Splashdown camp in Lough Dan, Orienteering in JFK Arboretum, a Graig Triathlon weekend with six visiting groups, a River Nore boat trip, Wexford Scout County Blackstairs Challenge weekend, Kayaking, Rowing and sailing every weekend on the river Barrow and the highlight, the sea scouting Jamboree in Holland with 5,000 participants.

Rory Fox summarised recent additions to the equipment inventory and acknowledged the support of Waterways Ireland, the Education and Training Board, Wexford County Council Sports Active and An Taisce Clean Coasts programme. Mark Deegan described ongoing improvements to the Scout Hall, the support of Wexford Local Development's Tús Scheme and the urgent need for the group to build a boatshed for winter maintenance and storage. Treasurer Chris Leahy presented the annual accounts and acknowledged funding support. Chris was thanked for all her help organising the trip to Holland.

New members to the beavers, cubs and sea scouts were then invested by the Group Leaders, including new beaver leader Majella Hennessy. The beavers, cubs and sea scouts were then presented with certificates and badges. Patrick Grennan from 12th Wexford Ballykelly received praise for his work. County Commissioner Dano O'Leary presented five beaver scouts and a cub scout with their well-earned Chief Scout Awards. Alex Kelly was presented with a 25 year service award and the gold meritous award by Dano, who was then presented with a commemorative neckerchief by Patricia Power.

The night ended with a birthday cake for long serving leader Kitty Warren.

New Ross Standard