Sunday 13 October 2019

First plough competition of the year

Phil Jackman and Eddie Furlong from Adamstown
Phil Jackman and Eddie Furlong from Adamstown
Paddy Doyle from Wicklow
Back: Nicholas Stafford from Newbawn and Tommy Rynan from Tipperary. Front: John Roberts from Old Ross and Alex and John Keating from Creacon
The ploughing in progress

David Looby

The first ploughing competition of the year in the locality saw some of the country's best compete in Cushinstown.

Sean Keating won the Senior Conventional category with Martin Kehoe in second place; John Whelan won the Senior Reversible category, followed by Dan Donnelly in second place. In the U28 category Fran Cullen came in first followed by Sean Treacy in second. In the U28 Reversible competition Tom Wickham came in first and Stephen Whelan was second.

The U21 category honours were claimed by Sean Kehoe in first with Steve Tracey coming in second. Francis Heaney won the Standard Reversible class, followed by Noel Byrne in second; in the Macna category William Kehoe came first followed by Shane Caulfield in second. James Barron won the Vintage TVO with Aidan O'Neill in second. The 3 Furrow competition was won by Billy Donnelly with Martin Hanlon; in second. The Classic Vintage was won by JJ Wickham and Liam Reilly was second. Alma Keating won the Farmerette competition, followed by Siobhan Darmody and the Single Furrow Vintage category was won by Willie Hayden, with Oliver Power in second, while Eamon Murphy won the Horse Class event.

New Ross Standard