Seven Kerry teams into third round of Junior Cup

THIS all Kerry clash at Mounthawk Park was a close affair but it was Classic that took the spoils at the end.

Classic FC 3 Dingle Bay Rovers 1

The Tralee club took the lead in the first half but Dingle had a chance to equalise but they missed from the penalty spot. Then Classic scored again to leave it 2-0 at half time. Dingle threw the game open again when Sean O'Connor scored but Classic sealed the game towards the end with the third goal. Darragh Dunne, Sean Foley and Dan Clinton scored for Classic while Sean O'Connor was the Dingle scorer.

Coole FC 1 (Clare) Spa Road Celtic 2 (after extra-time)

Spa Road travelled to Clare and made it a worthwhile journey winning the game in dramatic circumstances in extra-time. The sides were all square after 90 minutes with the Spa Road goals coming from Darren Crotty and Joe Duggan. Then Brendan Sweeney proved to be the hero for the Tralee side scoring the winner.

Palaskenry FC 1 (Desmond) St Brendans Park 3

The Park marched on to the third round with a comfortable win over Desmond League side Pallaskenry. Anthony Murphy scored a brace of goals while Mike Conway completed the scoring for the Tralee side.

Bridge Celtic 1 (Clare) Tralee Dynamos 2

Tralee Dynamos made the cross channel trip to Clare and came home happy campers after a great victory. Both of Dynamos goals were scored by Adam Pigott. An interesting statistic from this game is that Maurice O'Rahilly made his debut in goals for the Tralee side.

Kilkishen Celtic 1 (Clare)

Mastergeeha FC 4

Mastergeeha travelled to Clare and they proved to be too good for Kilkishen with Ricky Fleming, Colm Lenihan, James Devane and Kevin Gorman scoring their goals.

Shannon Olympic 1 (Clare)

Killarney Athletic 6

Killarney Athletic were also in the Banner County and they made light work of their job easily accounting for Shannon Ol ympic. Lucas Polack scored twice while Denis Galvin, Mike Lindsay Ed O'Sullivan and David Galvin also found the net. Newcastlewest FC 2 (Desmond) Castleisland FC 1 (after extra-time)

Unfortunately Castleisland bowed out of the competition losing out to Newcastlewest after extra time. Playing without a number of regulars Castleisland went ahead in the first half with an Aidan O'Callaghan goal and held this advantage up to half time.

Ten minutes into the second half the home side struck back and forced the game into extra time where they secured the winner.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links