| 19.3°C Dublin

Schoolboys round-up: Dingle Bay Under 12s set up Cup semi-final with Fenit Samphires


Action from the U13 Munster Shield Final Kerry v South Tipperary in Mastergeeha on Sunday. Photo: Tatyana McGough

Action from the U13 Munster Shield Final Kerry v South Tipperary in Mastergeeha on Sunday. Photo: Tatyana McGough

Action from the U13 Munster Shield Final Kerry v South Tipperary in Mastergeeha on Sunday. Photo: Tatyana McGough




Dingle Bay Rovers set up an away semi-final against Fenit Samphires after they defeated LB Rovers B in the last eight. Fionn O’Dowd hit a hat-trick for Dingle Bay with the other two goals coming from Harry O’Dowd and Aston Mathews.


This is Kerry Newsletter

The top stories from the Kingdom in news and sport, direct to your inbox every week

This field is required

With Killarney Celtic already through to the  semi-final they were joined by St Brendan’s Park C who defeated Killorglin A on Friday night.

Calvin O’Sullivan scored three times and Shane Griffin once, all set up by Tony Slattery, as the Park won 4-2. Callum Robertson and Seán Doherty replied for Killorglin.

On Saturday the line-up was completed when a Daniel Farmer hat trick saw St Brendans Park A win at Iveragh United and MEK Galaxy defeating Fenit Samphires thanks to goals from James O’Meara, Danny Murphy and Leo Allen.

The semi-final round will have St Brendan Park C at home to Killarney Celtic A and MEK Galaxy going to St Brendan’s Park A.


Ballyhar Dynamos are into the semi-final following a last eight win over Castleisland at Mort Scott Park. Aaron Moriarty had a very good night hitting four goals, which were added to by a goal from Conor Foley and an own goal.

Inter Kenmare C came from behind to defeated Mastergeeha B 2-1. The visitors went 1-0 but goals in quick succession from Jimmy McGann and Kevin Toughy put Inter ahead before the break. There was nothing between the sides in the second half with Inter holding on for the win. Brian Maguire got the Mastergeeha goal.

Killarney Celtic C joined their B club mates in the Last 4 as they were 2-0 winners away to Camp Juniors. Both Celtic goals came in the second half from Adam Counihan and Tobias Iheme.

The semi-draw sees Inter Kenmare C taking on Ballyhar Dynamos and also set up an intriguing semi-final at Celtic Park where the Killarney Celtic B will face Killarney Celtic C.



Ballyhar Dynamos made the trip to Christy Leahy Park a winning one in the semi-final. Anthony Cremin scored twice for Ballyar with John Henderson getting their third, while Darragh Lyons replied for St Brendan’s Park D. Ballyhar Dynamos will play Castleisland C in the final.

At Georgie O’Callaghan Park Kyle Buckley and Darragh Cahill put the home side 2-0 up with goals either side of half-time. The Park pulled one back when Jack Daly set up Daniel Farmer, but despite great pressure from the Tralee side Castleisland held on.


The first finalist in the final is MEK Galaxy as they got past Killarney Athletic by the narrowest of margins. The only goal of the game went to Jamie Vousdan. Killarney Athletic pushed hard for the equaliser but the home side held on.

MEK Galaxy will play Inter Kenmare in the final after they defeated Killorglin 7-6 on penalties after the sides drew 1-1 after extra time. Darragh Lynch was the Killorglin goal scorer.



The destination of the title was unknown going into the last game. St Brendan’s Park took a three-point lead to MEK Galaxy who needed a victory to force a play-off.

The game proved to be as tight as expected and with the weather throwing in a couple of heavy downpours both sets of players deserve great credit for the display they put on. The Park created slightly more chances and the MEK keeper made a couple of very good saves.

In the end the sides could not be separated and the 0-0 draw gave the Park the result they needed to be crowned champions.

Division 1

This division was done and dusted before the final game where Inter Kenmare and Killarney Athletic were playing for positions and pride.

The sides shared the points in a 1-1 draw with Roan O’Sullivan scoring for Inter who finished in fifth place and Jayden Hurley getting the Athletic goal as they finished seventh. St Brendan’s Park and Iveragh United were the top two in the division.

Division 2 South

This division came came down to the last game of the season with three teams level on points. However, Killorglin had their fate in their own hands as they went to Iveragh United for the final game.

Mikey Hynes scored twice for Killorglin with Tommy Foley getting their third. For the home side Ramon Khan, Darragh O’Shea and Jonah Murphy scored to see the game finish 3-3 giving Killorglin the result they needed to finish the season one point ahead of Killarney Celtic C and Mastergeeha B.

Division 2 North

LB Rovers are champions with Castleisland B in second place. Castleisland defeated Camp Juniors B in their penultimate game thanks to two goals each from Sam McCarthy and Killian Horgan and one from Daniel O’Sullivan. Addy Nolan and Conor Flaherty replied for Camp.



The action is getting down to the business end. Listowel Celtic took the win in Tralee thanks to goals from Cathal Byrne (two) and Daniel Shine with Christy Burke getting both goals for Dynamos.

Also in the division saw St Brendan’s Park and Killorglin draw 2-2. Xavier Wensierski and Mike Quirke got the Park’s goal with Ciaran Birmingham and Brian McKenna replying for Killorglin.

At the top of the table MEK welcomed Killarney Athletic to Fossa with both sides level on points but the home side have two games in hand. And with seven minutes to go it looked like MEK would be crowned champions on the night as a double from Jayden Fennell had them 2-0 up.

But credit to Killarney Athletic they hit back through Bryan O’Connor and Ben Kelliher to grab a share of the points. They now wait to see how MEK get on in their remaining games.

Division 1 

This was another division that went down to the final game where Castleisland needed a win over Mastergeeha to leap frog Camp Juniors who were two points clear at the top of the table at the start of play.

However Mastergeeha started very brightly and went ahead through Thomas Myers. The home side fought back and Eoin Joy drew Castleisland level at Georgie O’Callaghan Park and threw everything at Mastergeeha looking for the winner who could have won it themselves, but Castleisland keeper Danny Healy was in great form.

In the end it finished 1-1 and Camp Juniors are the champions with Castleisland as the runners-up.


Division 1

A Jerry Lynch hat-trick and goals from Fabian Petryszyn, Luan Xhemasle and Marcus Kora saw St Brendan’s Park C take all three points from their home game against Listowel Celtic B.


The countdown to the Kennedy Cup is gathering pace with the prestigious tournament taking place from June 13 to June 17.

They drew their final pre-tournament 1-1 away to Limerick County with Ben Kelliher getting the Kerry goal and they also had big performances from Liam O’Brien and Dylan Costello.

Team of the Week

Brandon Griffin

Camp Juniors 13’s

Jack Moran Cian Daughton Seamus Lyons Samson Abubaker

Iveragh United 13’s Tralee Dynamos 14’s Listowel Celtic 14’s St Brendan’s Park 13’s

Evan Doona Daniel O’Sullivan David McCarthy Padraig O’Connor

Killarney Athletic 14’s Killarney Celtic 12’s MEK Galaxy 14’s Castleisland 13’s

Aaron Moriarty Fionn O’Dowd

Ballyhar Dynamos 14’s Dingle Bay Rovers 13’s