Rathkeale send Classic crashing out of Cup

UMBRO FAI JUNIOR CUP Classic FC 1 Rathkeale 4 DESPITE taking the lead after half an hour Classic FC found Desmond League Premier side Rathkeale too hot to contend with at Mounthawk Park on Sunday and had to succumb to their greater power and exit from the competition.

Despite having a considerable gale behind them in the first half Classic were finding it very hard to subdue their opponents who were on top at midfield and were putting series after series of attacks together which had their reargaurd under severe pressure.

Daniel Clinton was operating as the sole striker for Classic and when in possession was posing a serious threat up front and gave the visitors defence plenty of anxious moments.

With Mikey Lyons pulling the strings at midfield Rathkeale had the lions share of possession and they should have gone ahead in the 25th minute when Anthony McAuliffe lost control of the ball but luckily Steven Power's shot weakly into the hands of Classic keeper Gary Kissane.

Against all the odds it was Classic that went ahead on the half hour mark when they forced a corner kick which was floated into the box and Timmy Lynch found the net from close range.

The Limerick side equalised just before half time when they capitalised on sloppy defending by Classic and Barry Riordan took advantage and found the net.

Unfortunately Classic lost striker Daniel Clinton at half time and went with him were their hopes of trying to win the game.

Rathkeale took complete control of the game in the second half and a brace of goals from Steven Power in the 53rd and 72nd minutes and a late goal by Mark O'Sullivan gave the Desmond League side a comfortable win. CLASSIC FC: Gary Kissane, Kenneth Leahy, Gary O'Brien, Timmy Lynch, Anthony McAuliffe, Martin Sweeney, Neil Hobbert, Daniel Clinton, Sean Foley, Ruairi Hennessy, Kieran O'Regan. Subs: Ashton Mugabe for O'Regan, Damien Reid for Hennessy. RATHKEALE: Brendan Carmody, David Mooney, Sean O'Shea, Gary Enright, Mikey Lyons, Alan O'Shea, Davy Lyons, Steven Power, Barry Riordan, Timmy Hogan, Mark O'Sullivan.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links