Temp Head - The Sweeney's Costcutters sponsored

The Sweeney's Costcutters sponsored even doubles County Championship programme concluded at Killarney's Aura Sports Centre on Friday last with the division 2 and 4 doubles for both Ladies and Men, where again the Moyvane club was the trailblazer on as the North Kerry club captured both ladies titles on offer.

The ladies division 2 final saw the 2010 champions,, sisters Brid and Catherine Murphy from Castleisland's Kingdom Club, take on the youthful pretenders from Moyvane, recently crowned singles Elaine Hudson and Sorcha Fitzgerald.

The sisters edged the first set 21-19 before the second set saw the sides level at 19-19 and 20-20 before Moyvane won the set 23-21. The third set was another hard fought encounter but the Moyvane ladies were now on top of their game and the set and title were theirs by 21-15 to give Miss Hudson her second division 2 title of the season.

Moyvane's second title went to the experienced pairing of Franceen Collins and Eleanor Sheehan who overcame the youthful Tralee/Killarney pairing of Grace Stack and Louise O'Donoghue. The Tralee/Killarney pairing set a blistering pace to win the first set 21-16 but the Moyvane pair never lost their composure and the title was theirs by winning the remaining two sets by 21-18; 21-15.

The mens division 2 final proved to be another three set cracker which saw the recently crowned division 3 champions, Killarney's Andrew Tong and Listowel's Fergal Hannon take on the Castleisland /Killarney pairing of Fergus McCarthy and Wayne Doyle.

Doyle/McCarthy took the first set 21-17, but Hannon/ Tong bounced back in the second and won it 21-13. It was all to play for in the third set but it was the steadiness of Doyle and the power of McCarthy that prevailed as they who won the title in that final set by 21-17.

The mens division 4 title went to the County Club, Tralee, pairing of Jason Russell and Eldo Matthew who defeated Killarney's Ger O'Connor and Kieron Crehan in two sets by 21-16; 21-17 in another hard fought decider.

The remaining County Championships series will be the mixed ties with divisions 1, 3 and 5 on in Killarney on Sunday April 7 and division 2 and 4 are also on in Killarney on Friday April 12.

Four players are on line to secure that coveted treble of County titles within the same season. They are Tom Bourke at div. 1; Elaine Hudson at div. 2; Ruth Concannon at div 3 and Maria O'Connor at div 5.

Plate results

Ladies Division 2 final

Killarney's Sinead Galvin and Peggy Horan defeated Tralee's Lynda McCarthy and Darina Stack by 21-10.

Mens Division 2 final

Killarney's Paudie Horan and John O'Brien defeated Moyvane's Timmy Duggan and Donie Enright 13-21; 21-18; 21-18.

Ladies Division 4 final

Listowel's Margaret Healy and Esther Cronin defeated Tralee's Lorraine Hopkins and Marie Murphy 21-18.

Men's Division 4 final

Listowel's Neil Keane-Stack and Colm O'Callaghan defeated Tralee's Tim Mulvihill and Islam 30-22.

The recently played D & E Ladies League for division 2 players has now concluded. With 15 ladies competing the honours went to the Fiona O'Shea led team who overcame the Brid Murphy captained team in a very close contest.

All roads lead to Annascaul this Sunday for the West Kerry's Clubs annual tournament which will cater for divisions 2, 3, 4 and 5. Divisions 4 and 5 commence proceedings at 12 noon with divisions 2 and 3 taking court at 3pm. Entry forms are with all club secretaries.

The Juvenile Mixed Championship, the last championship of the season, took place in The Aura Sports Complex Killarney on last Saturday at which over 90 players took part.


Under-11: Ciara O'Mahony Killarney and Dylan Geaney Dingle defeated Eimear O'Connor & Sean Kennedy Annascaul 22/20, 21/14.

Undre-13: Sonia Smith Killarney & killian Falvey Annascaul defeated Ciara Hudson Moyvane & Gearoid Lyne Annascaul 21/15, 21/16.

Under-15: Rachel O'Connor & Brian O'Connor Dingle defeated Rachel McCarthy Abbeydorney and Ruairi Browne Dingle 21/12, 19/21, 21/15.

Under-17: Sophie Smith Killarney & Alan Falvey Annascaul defeated Louise O'Donoghue & Eoin Foran Killarney 16/21, 21/19, 21/18.

A very successful art competition was run in conjuction with these Championships


Under-11: winner Orla Shine Moyvane, 2nd Brid Stack Moyvane 3rd. Mairead Guerin Abbeydorney.

Under-13: winner Ciara Hudson Moyvane, 2nd Gavin McCarthy Annascaul. 3rd Grainne Stack Mulvihill Moyvane.

Under-15: winner Rachel O'Connor, Dingle, 2nd Mairead Spaight, Moyvane, 3rd Brian O'Connor, Dingle.

U17 winner Aidan O'Connor, Dingle.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links