O'Donoghue take over from Clernon at Team Garveys

Liz Galwey

THE basketball season is set to tip off on the first weekend in October and Kerry supporters will be pleased to hear that Team Garvey's St. Mary's will again compete in the men's division one National league. Garvey's Super Valu, who have been sponsors of the side since 2003, will continue to sponsor the team who has announced some changes in their management structure and squad.

Former Tralee Tigers player and coach Kevin O'Donoghue is set to take over from Brian Clernon as head coach. O'Donoghue who is no stranger to coaching at the top level says he is "looking forward to working with the squad this season and delighted to be part of the Team Garvey's set up".

O'Donoghue has two cup and two league medals as a Superleague player himself and has a win in each as assistant coach with Tralee Tigers. He was head coach of Tigers when they last played superleague in 2008.

A number of changes have been made to the structure of the leagues this season, the Super League has been renamed the Premier League and at the end of the season the will be promotions and relegations between the Premier and division one leagues.

The have also been some changes made to the National cup competitions. The premier teams will now contest the National Cup while the former senior men's cup which was contested by division teams has now been renamed the Men's National Shield.

This season the men's division one will be an all Ireland conference made up of the following teams: Team Garvey's, Blue Demons, Fr. Matthews, Team Left Bank Kilkenny, Titans, Maree, Swords Thunder, Portlaoise and Tolka.

Team Garveys will play each team on a home and away basis, and their first game of the season will be away to Blue Demons on October 6. The first home game will be on October 19 against Swords Thunder.

While many of last year's players are set to play again this season Garvey's welcome the return of John Galvin and Padraig Lucey.

Team Garvey's squad includes Dan Griffin (captain), Declan Wall, Declan Culhane, Tom Fleming, Seamus Brosnan, Declan Cahill, John Galvin, Daragh Jones, Andrew Fitzgerald, Donal McCarthy, Padraig Lucey, Viktoras Velykis, Martin Flavin, Mark O'Shea, Shane O'Connor, Sean O'Connell, Maurice Casey, John Teahan and Michael Broderick.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links