Kerry medal haul at Juvenile Indoor Championships

Tessa Dennison

KERRY athletes brought home a decent haul of medals from the Woodie's DIY Juvenile Indoor championships last weekend held in the new Athlone IT International Arena.

From Tralee Harriers, Eoin O'Carroll took gold in the U19 boys long jump with a winning leap of 6.56m and silver in the 200m. Orla O'Reilly continued her winning form of late taking bronze in both the U14 girls 60m and the long jump.

In the U13 girls 600m Fiona Doyle, Star of the Laune, won the silver medal in a very tight finish and did well to reach the final of the 60m sprint and just miss out on a 3rd place medal in the high jump on a recount.

Rachel Moriarty from Lios Tuathail won bronze in U15 girls 60m with club mate Michael Foley winning silver in the U16 boys 800m. Also winning bronze medals were Darragh Lowth of St Brendan's in the U14 boys 800m and Spa/Muckross athlete Dylan O'Sullivan in U17 boys high jump.

nWELL done to the Kerry men who won medals in the Munster Master Road Championships in Moyglass, Co Tipperary last Sunday. In the mens' 4 mile race there was a strong field of almost 130 athletes. In the O-40 category John Barrett of Gneeveguilla took gold and team mate Robert Purcell silver. Kevin Griffin, also Gneeveguilla was fifth O-50 and Pat O'Shea, Iveragh, won gold in the O-60s. Kerry had no women competing on the day.

nThere were many strong performances at the Kerry Development Indoor Championships in Listowel on Saturday. This event serves as an introduction to competition for many of the younger athletes who will no doubt be representing their clubs with distinction in a few years time. Hosts Lios Tuathail AC won the overall trophy with Gneeveguilla in second place and St Brendan's AC third.

nThere will be county workshops for the following on Good Friday in Castleisland from 11am to 1pm. Middle Distance for boys and girls ages U16 to U19 with coach Niamh O'Sullivan. U14 and U15 will be on at a later date. Long Jump for boys and girls ages U14 to

U19 with coach Marie Godley. Can clubs please encourage athletes to attend these workshops. €5 per athlete. Contact Brendan Cullen on 087 2874184 for details.

nGneeveguilla AC will be holding their annual Jack O'Keeffe Festival of Road Races in Kiskeam on Easter Monday. The 4-mile road race from Boherbue to Kiskeam starts at 3pm and costs €15 to enter. Registration on the day at Kiskeam GAA Pavillion. There will be a supporting programme of juvenile races in Kiskeam Village starting at 1pm with girls and boys born between 2000 and 2008 catered for. The entry fee is €4 and prizes will be awarded to all finishers.

nTHE Kerry Athletics Annual Awards Night was held at the Manor West Hotel, Tralee last Friday, giving us all the chance to get together and celebrate the many achievements of the previous year.

Each club in the county is entitled to nominate two athletes for club awards, no mean feat at any time and there were many Kerry, Munster and National medal winners among the recipients: Fiona Doyle and Meadhbh O'Sullivan, Star of the Laune; Katie O'Riordan and Peter O'Brien, St Brendan's; Mark Cooper and Elizabeth Stack, Spa Muckross; Liam O'Donnell and Diana Nagle, Spa Fenit Barrow; Tomás O'Neill and Lauren Kennelly, Gneeveguilla, Adam Barrett and Clara Henrich, Tralee Harriers; Michael Foley and Alex Dowling, Lios Tuathail; Joseph Brosnan and Cathal Shire, An Ríocht; Natasha Myers and David Kenny, Farranfore Maine Valley; Liam O'Connell and Niall O'Shea, Iveragh. Special merit awards went to Laura Crowe and Jer Cremin of An Riocht AC.

Two ladies cross-country teams received Recognition Medals on the night. The Kerry team of Catherine Kiely, Gneeveguilla, Mary O'Connor, Laura Crowe, Deirdre Enright, An Riocht and Maria McCarthy, Farranfore Maine Valley, who won bronze medals at National Novice cross-country.

The Kerry team that won the Bronze medals at the National Senior Inter-counties cross-country championships was Niamh O'Sullivan, Laura Crowe, Deirdre Enright, An Riocht, and Maria McCarthy, Farranfore Maine Valley.

Several athletes were awarded for their success on an International level. They were Kayleigh Cronin, Spa/Muckross; Tomás Griffin, An Riocht; Hannah O'Sullivan, Rita Casey, David O'Keeffe and Mel O'Callaghan, Gneeveguilla; Katie O'Riordan and Eoghan Courtney, St Brendan's.

County Award Winners were: Masters Men Cross-country & Road - Patrick O'Shea, Iveragh; Masters Women Cross Country & Road - Niamh O'Sullivan, An Ríocht; Masters Men Track & Field - Patsy O'Connor Tralee Harriers; Masters Women Track & Field - Sheila O'Donoghue, Gneeveguilla; Senior Men Cross-country & Road - James Doran, An Ríocht; Senior Women Cross-country & Road - Maria McCarthy, Farranfore Maine Valley; Senior Men Track & Field - Daniel Clifford, Farranfore Maine Valley; Senior Women Track & Field - Clare Fitzgerald, Tralee Harriers; Junior Men Cross-country & Road - David Kavanagh, Tralee Harriers; Junior Women Cross-country & Road - Brigid Dennehy, Iveragh; Junior Men Track & Field - Eoin O'Carroll, Tralee Harriers; Junior Women Track & Field - Emma Prendiville, Farranfore/Maine Valley; Juvenile Male Cross-country & Road - Cillian O'Donovan, Iveragh; Juvenile Female Cross-country & Road - Niamh De Hora, Farranfore/Maine Valley; Juvenile Male Track & Field - Adam King, Iveragh; Juvenile Female Track & Field - Mairéad O'Neill, Gneeveguilla.

Jim O'Shea from Farranfore/Maine Valley AC was elected to the Hall of Fame. Jim's long and inspirational career started in 1960 and has seen him compete in Cross Country, Road, Track and Field. He has competed as a Veteran/Master since 1982 mainly in jumps and sprints and currently holds both Irish and British Indoor and Outdoor titles in the High Jump over 70 category.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links