BEALE -- all the news

BEALE GAA / COMMUNITY CENTRE LOTTO Sunday 25th November, 2012 was held in The Exchange Bar.

The numbers drawn were 1, 16, 26 & 27,, there was no winner of the €2,300 Jackpot, the lucky dip winners are €40 - John Dee, Railway Bar €30 - Una Ryan, Mc Munn's €20 - Joe O'Brien C/O Railway bar 5 Free tickets - Liz Kennelly C/O Post Office Next draw will be held in The Attic Bar on Sunday Night 2nd December at 9.30 and the Jackpot is €2,350. We would like to thank you for your continued support

BEALE SENIORS are through to the final of the North Kerry Championship for our second consecutive year. We overcame Listowel Emmetts in the semi-final on Sunday in Ballylongford and hopes are high in the camp that Seán Dee will lift the trophy before Christmas. Beale opened the scoring, and Emmetts hit back with 2 points. A goal in the fourteenth minute edged us ahead by 2 points but 2 goals and a point by Emmetts put them in the driving seat. A further Beale point saw us trail by 1-3 to 2-3 at the interval. We hit the ground running, scoring a goal and four points at the changeover without reply, and holding our opponents scoreless until the 18th minute.

A nail-biting finish saw Emmets pull back a further two points, with the clock ticking away. Emmets had a chance to equalise well into injury time but the free was wide of the target. We held on to win by the bare minimum: Beale 2-7, Emmetts 2-6. Beale team: Seán Dee, Philly Blake, Jeremy King, Colm Kissane, Shane Joy, Paul Collins, Matthew Moran, Pádraig Murphy (0-3), Declan Bambury, Andy O'Connell, James McMahon (0-1), Jake O'Connell (1-0)l, Tom Joy, Barry O'Mahoney (1-0), Ian Blake (0-3(3f)). Substitutes: Paul Horgan for Philly Blake, Tom Hayes for Ian Blake, Cormac Walshe for Pádraig Murphy (inj.), Joe Downey, Karl Purtill, Seán Quinn, Brendan Brennan, Maurice O'Connor, Kieran Griffin, Martin Griffin, Rory Mulvihill, Philip Hornyiak. Prior to the match a minute's silence was held in honour of the late Paudie Walshe, Lehesrough, an avid GAA fan, and loyal Beale supporter.

BEALE JUNIORS play Clounmacon in the North Kerry Championship on Saturday in Ballyduff at 2.30pm. Beale/ Asdee/Ballylongford play their first round Under-21 North Kerry Championship game against Listowel Emmett. Date to be confirmed.

THE SHANNON RANGERS team who won the Senior County Championship in 1972 were honoured at a function to celebrate the 40th anniversary in Carmody Hall, Ballylongford, on Saturday night last. Beale were represented by Joe Diggins and Ogie Moran on the Shannon Rangers team who defeated Mid-Kerry. In 1973, Shannon Rangers became the County Minor champions for the first time and the team included Beale's Joe Diggins, Ogie Moran, Pádraig Liston, Gearóid Griffin, Tim Griffin and Tom Allen. Joe Diggins and Ogie Moran have the distinction of winning a Senior medal before winning a Minor medal. Gearóid Griffin and Ogie Moran went on to don the green and gold of Kerry in the 1978 All-Ireland victory. Eoin "Bomber" Liston also starred on that day. Three Beale men on the winning Kerry team!

Promoted Links

Promoted Links