O'Donoghue strikes to seal crown for Kilcummin

East Kerry Board chairman Tim Ryan presents the Tim Lenihan Memorial Cup to Kilcummin captain Colm Lenihan after his team won the East Kerry Junior League Division 2 Final
East Kerry Board chairman Tim Ryan presents the Tim Lenihan Memorial Cup to Kilcummin captain Colm Lenihan after his team won the East Kerry Junior League Division 2 Final

Junior League

Division 2 Final

Kilcummin 1-14

Rathmore 2-8

THE East Kerry Junior League Division 2 Final, played in Direen last week, was an entertaining game with an exciting finish and both teams had a good spread of scorers.

Rathmore dominated the opening ten minutes and notched up three unanswered points, one from play (Damien Casey) and two from frees (Sean O'Riordan). Rathmore also had a shot at goal skim wide.

Kilcummin started winning ball in the midfield area and narrowed the lead to the minimum with two points from play (Daniel Kelly, John Devane) going into the second quarter. There was a scatter of points (Brian Moynihan, Tom Kelliher for Rathmore; David Brosnan free for Kilcummin), which gave Rathmore a two point lead with five minutes remaining in the half. The Kilcummin goal keeper stopped a rasper at goal by Donnacha McCarty from a pass by Padraig O'Callaghan.

Rathmore's Stephen Lehane punched a point from the resultant '45, giving his side a three point lead. Kilcummin dominated the midfield area again with Colm Lenihan knocking the ball down from the kick outs, giving their forwards a platform from which they equalised with three points (John McCarthy, David Brosnan and Ben Brosnan) in the last five minutes of the half. The sides went level on six points a piece at the break.

Kilcummin continued their dominance early in the second half, with an in form John McCarthy and led on a scoreline of 0-11 to 0-6 with well taken points from play by John McCarthy (2) and Donal Brosnan (1), and two lovely long distance converted frees by David Brosnan.

On the fifteenth minute, Rathmore narrowed the gap to two points when centre-back, John Hickey, made a surging run forward, set up Donnacha McCarthy with a goal mouth cross, that Donnacha finished to the back of the net. Kilcummin replied with two unanswered points (Eamonn O'Donoghue, Daniel Kelly) to lead by five with ten minutes remaining.

Rathmore showed great character and determination, levelled the scores with a Padraig O'Callaghan point and a goal from the boot of Brian Moynihan. Rathmore went aheade by the minimum on the 27th minute with a point from Sean O'Riordan.

However, Eamonn O'Donoghue put his side two points up when he found the net for Kilcummin and it was Kilcummin's Daniel Kelly who scored a point with the last kick of the game. East Kerry Board Chairman, Tim Ryan, presented the Tim Lenihan Memorial Cup to Kilcummin captain Colm Lenihan.

He complimented both team son an exciting and entertaining game, congratulated Kilcummin in winning the title, thanked the referee and also thanked Legion club for the use of their great facilities.

Rathmore: Jamie Cooper, Martin O'Shea, Daniel O'Sullivan, Conor Jenkins, Sean O'Riordan (0-3; 2f), John Hickey, Tagdh Moynihan, Tom Kelleher (0-1), Brian Moynihan (1-1), Stephen Lehane (0-1), Paudie O'Mahony, John O'Keeffe, Padraig O'Callaghan (0-1), Donnacha McCarty (1-0), Damien Casey (0-1). Subs: Cillian O'Connor, Shane Reen, Joseph McCarty

Kilcummin: Darragh McCarthy, William Maher, Kieran O'Donoghue, Eoin Lane, Gavin O'Leary , Eric O'Connor, Enda O'Sullivan, Colm Lenihan, Damien Doolan , John Devane(0-1), John McCarthy (0-3;2f), Daniel Kelly(0-4), David Brosnan(0-4f), Eamonn O'Donoghue(1-1), Ben Brosnan(0-1). Subs: Darragh Kelly

Referee: John Dineen (Fossa)

Launch of East Kerry Senior Championships

THE launch of the O'Donoghue Cup, the Fr Galvin Cup and the O'Sullivan Cup competitions will be held on Thursday, May 22 in The Gleneagle Hotel at 8pm.

Chairpersons, Secretaries, PROs and East Kerry delegates are invited to attend the launch. The draw for the first round of the Aquila Club O'Donoghue Cup, sponsored by the Aquila Club, Gleneagle Hotel, will be made on the night as will the draws for the first round of the Fr Galvin cup, sponsored by the Gleneagle Hotel and the O'Sullivan Cup Sponsored by O' Sullivan Cycles.

Gneevegulla Opening

THE Gneeveguilla GAA club are officially opening their juvenile field on Sunday, May 25.

There will be Mass in the hall at 12.30pm and after Mass an official from the Kerry County Board will open the new field. The club are having 'Lá na gClub' to mark the occasion and hope to have two special visitors in the form of Sam and Liam McCarthy. All welcome.

Super Blitz

THE Kerry Post Primary second Year Super Touch blitz took place last week in Caherslee.

The format consisted of two groups of four, with two teams progressing to the semi finals.

The teams comprised panels of nine players and all games were seven aside. Pobal Scoil Sliabh Luachra, Rathmore, and Pobal Scoil Inver Sceine, Kenmare, represented East Kerry / Kenmare and both schools performed very well.

Congratulations to Rathmore Secondary School on defeating a strong Tralee CBS Team in the final. Munster Council presented a top to each player to mark the occasion.

Skills Final

CONGRATULATIONS to Holy Family NS, Rathmore, boys skills team that won the Primary Schools county final last Friday in Fitzgerald Stadium. David Dineen, Sean Keefe and Dan Murphy completed the superb victory with a fantastic team display.

Conor Sheehan, representing Anabla NS, took third place in the individual section. A superb result in a tight event.


THE East Kerry Board Delegates meeting is on Tuesday, May 27 in the Killarney Heights Hotel at 9pm.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links