Listowel Emmets claim senior league

Con McCarthy Insurance Sponsored North Kerry Senior Division 1 League Champions Listowel Emmets after defeating Brosna in the final played in Moyvane on Friday evening. Photo by John Stack
Con McCarthy Insurance Sponsored North Kerry Senior Division 1 League Champions Listowel Emmets after defeating Brosna in the final played in Moyvane on Friday evening. Photo by John Stack

Listowel Emmets claim senior league title over BrosnaNK SFL DIVISION 1 FINAL

Listowel 0-14

Brosna 0-10

LISTOWEL were crowned 2013 Senior League Division oNE champions at Moyvane on Friday last but not before they had to pull out all the stops against a Brosna side who just simply did not have the scoring power of their opponents when it mattered most. Once again Noel Kennelly gave a Man of the Match performance; dominating midfield throughout and it would be fair to say that he was to be the major obstacle to Brosna's chances of victory; deadly accurate from frees, wonderful high fielding and his overall distribution of the ball setting up his attack for further scores in which Conor Cox, Brian Murphy and Cormac Mulvihill taking advantage.

On the other hand Brosna seemed to be relying on Tom McGoldrick and Adam Barry for their scores and even though the team as a whole worked hard they were struggling to get accurate ball into their attackers. Listowel Emmets did start as favourites even though they had to line out without a number of their regular line up and it was Brosna who were quick off the blocks with Tom McGoldrick; (0-2f) and Adam Barry opening their account by the six minute mark.

However Noel Kennelly with two pointed frees levelled up matters by the 10th minute. At this stage Brosna seemed to be in control and further points coming from Tom McGoldrick, (0-2f) and Adam Barry gave them a three point advantage coming up to the break. Brian Murphy ('45) and Mike Finnegan exchanged points leaving the half time score; Brosna 0-7 Listowel Emmets 0-4.

On resumption it was Listowel Emmets who had introduced a number of substitutes at the break that took immediate effect; especially the introduction of Brendan Guiney. Within six minutes the sides were level with Noel Kennelly and Conor Cox firing over points without reply. At this stage Listowel Emmets seemed to have a firm grip on the game.

Still it was anybodies game as we approached the 55th minute mark with Emmets holding on to a 0-10 to 0-11 lead. However for those remaining five miunutes or so the game hung in the balance but it was Emmets who finished with a florishof points. Besides those already mentioned. Jack McGuire, Denis Walsh, Brendan Guiney and Jamie Barry impressed for Listowel Emmets. For Brosna, Aaron Cahill was without doubt outstanding on the day while Shane Fitzmaurice, Eamon Kiely, Shane Curtin and Mike Finnegan also impressed.

LISTOWEL EMMETS: Shane Quinn, Jamie Barry, Jack McGuire, John Heaphy, Ger McCarthy (0-1), Denis Walsh, David Ryan, Noel Kennelly (0-5, 3f), Martin Flavin (0-1), Brendan Flavin, Cormac Mulvihill (0-2), Billy Doyle, Conor Cox (0-3, 1f), Darren Halpin, Bryan Murphy (0-1 '45'), Subs; Brendan Guiney for David Ryan, Micheal Lynch (0-1) for Billy Doyle, Maurice Whelan for Darren Halpin

BROSNA: Conor Kiely, Eamon Kiely, Micheal Murphy, Shane Fitzmaurice, Peter Curtin, Aaron Cahill, Mike McAuliffe, Mike Finnegan (0-1), Shane Curtin, Timmy Finnegan (0-1), Dee McAuliffe, Patrick O'Keeffe, Don McAuliffe, Tom McGoldrick (0-6f), Adam Barry (0-2, 1f), Subs; Seamus McAuliffe for Patrick O'Keeffe, Eamon Prenderville for Don McAuliffe, Dave Curtin for Dee McAuliffe

REFEREE: Mike Hennessy (Ballyduff)

2013 Championship Draw

THE draw for the Bernard O'Callaghan Memorial North Kerry Senior Football Championship will take place on Wednesday, August 28 in McMunns Hotel Ballybunion at 8pm, The North Kerry Football Board would like to thank Greg and Una for their continued support for our Senior Championship again for 2013.

Best Wishes

BEST wishes to the Kerry Senior footballers and management who play Dublin in Croke Park on Sunday. Involved in the team from the North Kerry District are Shane Enright, Tarbert, Patrick Curtin, Moyvane, Anthony Maher, Duagh, Brian McGuire, Listowel Emmets, and Paul Galvin, Finuge, and of course manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice, Finuge. Best of luck to all from the North Kerry Football Board.


THE North Kerry Football would like to congratulate the Kerry Ladies who are now in an All-Ireland semi-final against Cork. The players from north Kerry are Breda Lane, Emmets, Cait Lynch and Aoife Lyons, Desmonds, and Louise Galvin, Finuge/St Senan's, who all started in the quarter-final win against Mayo on Saturday.


Division 1 North Kerry Senior League Final

Listowel Emmets 0-14 Brosna


North Kerry Under 14 League

Division 1

Finuge 1-9 Ballyduff 8-9

Division 2A

Beale 3-4 Ballylongford/Asdee 4-6

Division 2B

Ballydonoghue 2-15 Tarbert /

Moyvane 2-10


Thursday, September 5, 6.30PM

Nk Minor Div 1 League Final

Knock/Brosna v St Senans

in Finuge