Liebherr scale heights to claim All-Ireland title

Liebherr team celebrate after defeating Burnside Carlow. Photo by Michelle Cooper Galvin
Liebherr team celebrate after defeating Burnside Carlow. Photo by Michelle Cooper Galvin



Football Final

Liebherr Container

Cranes (Killarney) 2-11

Burnside (Carlow) 0-11

Liebherr Container Cranes were crowned All-Ireland champions after their victory over Burnside in Lewis Road last Saturday. Played in front of a large attendance, Liebherr started brightly with an Eamonn John O'Donoghue point in the first minute. Declan O'Sullivan from a free doubled the lead in the 7th minute.

With Burnside now getting a grip on the game, full forward Gary Dempsey had their first score in the 10th minute and they were level two minutes later after a Derek Hayden point. The game was end to end at this stage with goalkeepers at both ends pulling off great saves. Mike O'Sullivan had Liebherr back in the lead in the 19th minute with a beauty from the left wing and Paddy Curtin had another a minute later to make it 0-4 to 0-2 in favour of Liebherr.

Burnside's response was quick as Gary Dempsey who was proving a handful kicked a fine point and Derek Hayden had them level soon after. Wing forward Alan Kelly with a point had Burnside in the lead for the first time in the 24th minute. Though dominant at this stage, poor shooting was to cost them dearly as all they could add onto their tally was a late pointed free from Gary Dempsey to leave the half time score 0-6 to 0-4 in favour of Burnside.

Whatever was said in the Liebherr dressing room during the break it had a desired effect as they flew out of the blocks with a Mike Shaughnessy point in the first minute. Then James Clarke in the Burnside goal pulled off another fine save and Declan O'Sullivan kicked the resultant 45 over to level matters. Shaughnessy then lobbed one into the Burnside square that caused all sorts of confusion to leave Paddy Curtin with a simple tap in. There was no let up in the Liebherr lads now as they sensed victory and went for it with Shaughnessy, Mike O'Sullivan and Donal Murphy all putting over good points to put Liebherr into a commanding lead of 1-9 to 0-6.

Gary Dempsey had points for Burnside in the 12th and 13th minutes but the impressive Mike O'Sullivan cancelled these out and Paddy Curtin another. Another Paddy Curtin goal in the 24th minute blew Burnside's cylinder and gave Liebherr the signal to empty the subs bench. Two late Gary Dempsey points was all Burnside could add to their tally to leave the final score 2-11 to 0-11 in favour of Liebherr.

Liebherr supporters invaded the pitch to embrace their heroes and surround captain supreme Declan O'Sullivan as he received the cup to rapturous applause.

Liebherr: David Moloney, Daragh Twomey, Mike Moloney, Adrian Lynch, Luke Quinn, Padraig O'Connor, Niall Lynch, Mike O'Sullivan (0-3), Eamonn John O'Donoghue (0-1), Micheal Shaughnessy (0-2), Declan O'Sullivan (0-2), Anthony Kennedy, Eoin Lawlor, Paddy Curtin (2-2), Donal Murphy (0-1). Subs: Mark Dennehy for D Twomey, Denis O'Neill for A Kennedy, Richie O'Connor for EJ O'Donoghue, Colin Myers for D Moloney, Kevin Courtney for A Lynch. Not used: Daniel O'Keeffe, Morgan O'Donoghue, Cormac Johnson, Dermot O'Sullivan, Mikey Fitzgerald, Sean Murphy, Daragh Reen, Ciaran O'Mahony. Adrian O'Connell.

Mentors: Kieran O'Mahony, Adrian McCarthy and Anthony Breen


Promoted Links

Promoted Links