League a boost to Kerry hurling

Kerry selector Maurice Leahy. Photo: Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE
Kerry selector Maurice Leahy. Photo: Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE

IN an exciting development for the future of Kerry hurling a new West Munster Senior Hurling league has been inaugurated, with all eight Kerry Senior Clubs will take part alongside teams from Clare (3) Tipperary (3) and Limerick (2).

It will commence, on a home and away basis, on Wednesday, June 19 with four groups of four. This competition will be run under the auspices of the Munster Council in an effort to promote club hurling in Kerry.

A perpetual cup has been presented to the Munster Council by the O'Connell family of Causeway in memory of Joseph and Ann O'Connell and the competition will be launched by Cathaoirleach, Comhairle na Mumhan CLG, Robert Frost on Friday, May 31 at a Kerry venue (provisionally Causeway).

Team groups for League:

Group 1: Ballyduff, Scariff, Granagh/Ballingarry, St. Brendan's.

Group 2: Garryspillane, Kilruane McDonaghs, Lixnaw, Crotta O'Neills.

Group 3: O'Callaghans Mills, Cappawhite, Causeway, Abbeydorney.

Group 4: Clonoulty / Rossmore, Broadford, Kilmoyley, Ballyheigue.

The cup for this Munster League is dedicated to the memory Joe and Ann O'Connell who lost their lives in a traffic accident in the USA in 2009. Joe, better known as Joby, played a major role on the Causeway team that won four Kerry coutny senior hurling championships in-a-row [1979-1982] and won the Man of the Match Award in the 1979 final. He also played with the Kerry senior hurlers [winning an All-Ireland Senior 'B' medal in 1983] and UCD and played football with St. Brendan's District Board and Ballyduff.

Todd Nolan

CONTRATULATIONS to Limerick, who won this year's Todd Nolan Hurling Tournament. Limerick defeated Clare on Saturday evening in Abbeydorney GAA Grounds.

The final score was Limerick 4-19 to Clare 0-5. The cup was presented to the winning captain Andrew Le Touche Cosgrave by Carmel Nolan, wife of the late Todd Nolan, Andrew also picked up the Man of the Match award for his fantastic display in the final.

The first game took place on Saturday morning in Causeway between Clare and Kerry. Kerry were very narrowly defeated by the Clare side in difficult conditions. The final score was Clare 2-10 Kerry 1-12. The Kerry side showed great determination and worked very well together as a team. At the same time Limerick defeated Waterford to secure their spot in the final against Clare, final score here was Limerick 0-13 Waterford 0-7.

The shield final between Kerry and Waterford was played in windy conditions also in Causeway. Kerry again were defeated on a final score of Waterford 2-11 Kerry 1-12.

Overall the tournament was a great success and there is no doubt that the young Kerry side gained hugely from the games. Many thanks to the teams and their management who travelled for the competition, the host clubs Abbeydorney and Causeway, the organisers of the Tournament, Maurice Leahy and Gerard McCarthy and all the people who helped them behind the scenes.

Thanks to the referees and officials of the games. Finally many thanks to Carmel Nolan and her son Cliff Nolan who attended on the day to present the cup and the man of the match award. Log onto Kerry Hurling on Facebook for pictures of the Tournament.


MOST PROs should have received a text on Friday night to remind them of reports due in after this weekend's County League games. If your club had home venue then you are responsible for sending in the report. If the venue for the game was changed, the club with the home venue for the original fixture is still responsible for the report. The report must be emailed no later than 7pm on Sunday evening, with the obvious exception of some games being changed to a later time on a Sunday.


WELL done to Abbeydorney Hurling Club who launched their Five Year Plan on Saturday night in the Abbeydorney Clubrooms. Winners of the Art competition were also presented with their prizes, special guests on the night were Teidí Ó Suilleabhain President Munster CLG, County Committee and NKHB Officers as well as other North Kerry Club Officers.


I WISH to thank Tommy O'Connor who stood in as Hurling PRO for the last couples of weeks in my absence. Tommy did a fantastic job. His attention to detail and huge interest in Kerry hurling is highly admirable. Míle Buíochas Tommy.


Sunday, April 21

Senior Hurling League

Div 1, Rd 2

(games at 2.30pm unless stated)

Ballyduff v Crotta

Kilmoyley v Ballyheigue

Causeway v Lixnaw TBC

St Brendans v Abbeydorney TBC

Wednesday, April 24

Div 2 Rd 2

(all games at 6.45pm)

Abbeydorney B v Ballyheigue B

Causeway B v Lady's Walk

Lixnaw B v Kenmare

Kilmoyley B v Kilgarvan

(St Brendans B have withdrawn from this division)


County Senior Hurling League

Div 1

Ballyduff 2-11 Lixnaw 0-11

Crotta 2-11 Kilmoyley 2-14

Ballyheigue 1-7 St. Brendan's 1-10

Abbeydorney 2-6 Causeway 1-12


Promoted Links

Promoted Links