Tralee CBS defend their Russell Cup title against IS Killorglin

Russell Cup Final: Tralee CBS 1-19 Intermediate School Killorglin 2-9

Tralee CBS successfully defended their Russell Cup (U15 1/2 football) title in Farranfore even though ISK were slight favourites given what they had achieved this year at U-16½ level.

Nevertheless, bar an 11-minute spell in the first period when they were under some pressure, Tralee CBS pretty much dominated proceedings and retained the title with plenty to spare.

CBS manager Fergus Clifford reflected on his side recovering from that early lull to lead 1-8 to 1-6 at the half-time, as being a big factor in The Green's win.

"I think that was the winning of it (re-energising themselves in the last 10 minutes of the first-half). Killorglin are a fine team with some great footballers, but our boys were up for it today. We hit the ground running in the second-half getting four straight points and we responded the same way to their second goal late on. I'm delighted that their dedication and commitment has got them this win and hopefully it will lead to further honours down the road," Clifford said.

Tralee had led 0-5 to 0-1 after 10 minutes but a goal from Eoghan Hassett was the spring for Killorglin to lead by 1-5 to 0-5 approaching the 20-minute mark.

Josh Lynch's goal in the 28th minute gave the Green their half-time lead of two points as they stretched their lead out to 1-15 to 1-9 after 51 minutes with Donal Daly (from frees) and Donnacha Sayers in good scoring form.

Stephen Palmer offered Killorglin hopes of a comeback with his goal in the 54th minute but The Green had four straight points again to finish with as Danny Hennessy for the victors opened and closed the match scoring on the day.

Tralee CBS: Ben O'Brien (Kerins O'Rahillys); Ciaran White (John Mitchels), TJ Heaphy (Kerins O'Rahillys), Jack O'Donoghue (John Mitchels), Nathan Rodgers (Churchill, 0-1), Eric McMahon (Kerins O'Rahillys), Ben Donnellan (Churchill); Josh Lynch (Austin Stacks, 1-3), Ronan Pearse (Ardfert); Sean Healy (Kerins O'Rahillys), Donal Daly (Ballymacelligott, 0-7, 6f), Togor Silong (Austin Stacks, 0-1); Donnacha Sayers (do, 0-4, 1f), Enda Cahill (do, 0-1) Danny Hennessy (Kerins O'Rahillys, 0-2). Sub: Jake Foley (Kerins O'Rahillys) for Healy

IS Killorglin: Cillian Foley (Laune Rangers); Aona O'Shea (do), Liam O'Neill (Cromane), Conall O'Mahony (Firies) Tom Whittleton (Laune Rangers), Ciaran O'Sullivan (do, 0-1), Killian Spillane (Laune Rangers), Conor Spillane (Milltown/Castlemaine, 0-2, 1f), Sean Dineen (Fossa); James Horgan (Firies, 0-1), Eoghan Hassett (Laune Rangers, 1-5, 5f), Darragh O'Grady (do); Charlie Foley (Cromane), Jack O'Sullivan (Laune Rangers), Stephen Palmer (Firies, 1-0). Subs: Eoin Lynch (Laune Rangers) for Killian Spillane, Cathal O'Callaghan (do) for Aona O'Shea and Colm O'Shea (Firies) for O'Callaghan

Referee: Tom McCarthy (Desmonds)