Three goal An Gaeltacht advance

Alan Fitzgerald
Alan Fitzgerald

Lee Strand West Kerry Senior League Semi-final

An Ghaeltacht 3-11

Caislean Ghriare 1-9

CASTLEGREGORY were first off the mark in this game, followed closely after by An Ghaeltacht.

This was to be the story of the quarter, when two evenly matched teams went head to head against each other. With Alan Fitzgerald (below) having his shooting boots on, Castlegregory were never far behind.

Good defensive work by the backs marshalled by Joe O'Connor at full, and Killian Burns at centre ensured that Castlegregory were still in the game. Sean Micheál Ó Conchubhair, Eanna Tadhg Ó Conchúir and Pádraig Ó Sé ensured An Ghaeltacht were moving well and the first blow for Castlegregory came when Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh scored the first half goal for An Ghaeltacht. Half-time score An Ghaeltacht 1-6 to Castlegregory 0-5.

Whatever was said in An Ghaeltacht dressing rooms at half time worked as from the start Aodán Mac Gearailt goaled again for An Ghaeltacht. Micheál Ó Sé added a point for Castlegregory before Aodán Mac Gearailt scored another good point to leave the score An Ghaeltacht 2-8 to Castlegregory 0-6 after five mins. Gearóid Mac an tSaoir scored An Ghaeltachts third and final goal leaving Castlegregory's Shane Kenny with no chance.

Anton Kelliher converted a free for Castlegregory, but it wasn't until Liam Maunsell came on that they looked like they could cause an upset. The same man had two shots blocked and saved before he eventually found the net.

Shane Hennessy had scored a point for Castlegregory after the save by Tomás Mac an tSaoir and Alan Fitzgerald again pointed for Castlegregory. Eanna Tadhg Ó Conchúir and Eoin Mac Gearailt had kept An Ghaeltacht ticking over with some great scores at this stage and when Paul Hayes blew the final whistle the scoreboard read An Ghaeltacht 3-11 to Castlegregory 1-9.

An Ghaeltacht: Tomás Mac an tSaoir, Cathal Ó Lúing, Daithi Ó Sé, Cathal Ó Fiannachta, Pádraig Ó Sé (0-1), Colm Ó Muircheartaigh, Eoin Ó Cruadhlaoich, Eoin Mac Gearailt, Eanna Tadhg Ó Conchúir (0-2), Aodán Mac Gearailt (1-1) Eoin Mac Gearailt (0-1), Gearóid Mac an tSaoir (1-0), Pól Breathnach, Sean Micheál Ó Conchubhair (c) (0-6) Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh (1-0) Fir Ionaid: Colm Ó Beaglaoich, Caoimhghin Ó Beaglaoich, Piaras Feirtéar, Tony Láiléis, Seán Ó Bambaire

Castlegregory: Shane Kenny, Nicholas Fitzgerald, Joe O'Connor, Padraig Rohan, Enda Whelan, Killian Burns, Colm Sills, Adam O'Donnell, Shane Hennesy (0-1), Seán O'Connor, Gavin O'Connor, Brandon Hoare, Anton Kelliher (0-1), Alan Fitzgerald (0-6), Timothy Moriarty Fir Ionaid: Micheál Ó Sé (0-1), Liam Maunsell (1-0)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links