Spa goals decide the issue

A MINUTE'S silence was observed for the late Tralee teenager Donal Walsh, before the start of the Division 1 Final between Dr Crokes and Spa in Fitzgerald Stadium on Monday, May 13.

Division 1 Final

Spa 3-9 Crokes 1-11

This was a sporting very competitive game with wonderful team performance from both sides. The game was close from the first kick of the ball, creating an exciting second half. Both teams started strongly. Spa's captain, Ciaran Spillane scored the opening point from play. Dr Crokes replied with a point by Brian Fitzgerald. It was tit for tat for the remainder of the half and the teams were level at half the short whistle.

They say that goals win games and this was shown to be the case when Spa's Mike Foley found the net early in the second half. The team raised their performance and Spa held onto a lead for the second half, with two further goals, David Spillane and Ciaran Spillane, finding the target. Michael Casey stood out for Dr Crokes and the team played with heart to the final whistle. Both teams hit the post with goal shots.

Dr Crokes spirit was rewarded with a penalty in the 60th minute, ably converted by Adam O'Shea with a rasping shot to the back of the net. Spa ran out winners on a final score of Spa 3-9 Crokes 1-11.

Maria Falvey, Vice Chairperson East Kerry Coiste na nÓg, presented the trophy to Ciarán Spillane, captain of Spa. Maria congratulated the winning team, complimented both teams and their mentors on a sporting and skilful game and thanked match official James O'Sullivan (Firies) and his linesman and umpires for their excellent handling of the game. Maria also thanked Der Brosnan and the Fitzgerald Stadium committee for the use of the wonderful Fitzgerald Stadium facilities for both Under 16 Championship Finals.

Spa: Michael Kearney, Shane Howe, Aidan Fleming, David Moynihan, Mike McCarthy, Eoin Fitzgerald, Eric O'Donoghue, Ciaran Spillane ( 1-2), Evan Cronin(0-2; 1f), David Spillane (1-0), Mikey Moynihan, Darragh Moynihan(0-2), Fergal O' Donoghue, Mike Foley (1-2; 2f), Stephen Kelliher

Dr Crokes: Tony Clifford, Conor Harrington, Jack Linehan, Aodhain De Bruin, Gavin White, David Naughton, Craig Courtney, Paul Clarke, Dylan O'Sullivan(0-1f), Mark O'Shea, Adam O' Shea (1- 4; 4f), David Shaw, John Kerrisk, Michael Casey (0-5), Brian Fitzgerald (0-1)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links