Ryan fires Rathmore past Crokes

East Kerry U-21 Championship Division 1 Final

Rathmore 1-9

Dr Crokes 0-11

RATHMORE won the East Kerry Under 21 Division 1 Championship Final, sponsored by Acorn Holistics and Sports Centre, Killarney, in a fast moving, skilful and closely contested game, versus Dr Crokes, played in Fitzgerald Stadium last Monday.

Dr Crokes opened the scoring and notched up three unanswered points in the first 10 minutes. Rathmore created goal opportunity, only to see the ball skim wide before Shane Ryan opened the Rathmore account with a lovely pointed free.

Shane followed with a great display of outstanding long distance points, notching up four to Dr Crokes single point. This came from good defence by Aaron Murphy, who set up a great passing move involving Crokes captain Bryan O'Shea which ended with a Jordan Kiely point. Brian Moynihan and Tony Brosnan traded points to leave the half time score Rathmore 0-6, Dr Crokes 0-5.

On resumption the game continued at pace. Shane Ryan extended the Rathmore lead with a pointed free, soon after the restart. Dr Crokes had a period of dominance and equalised with two pointed frees (Tony Brosnan).

It was tit for tat for the next fifteen minutes. Dr Crokes went ahead by the minimum with a point from play (McDara DeWillis). Shane Ryan equalised. The sides traded points. Rathmore created what looked like a certain goal, only to see the ball come off the upright with the sides level and five minutes remaining.

The Dr Crokes captain, Bryan O'Shea, put his side a point ahead. Rathmore responded and in a well worked move, Shane Ryan blasted the ball to the net, to put Rathmore two points ahead with minutes remaining. In a nail biting finish, Dr Crokes pressed forward a number of times and with the last kick of the game, Michael Burns pointed a free, to reduce the margin to the minimum.

Margaret Doyle presented the Maurice Mottie O' Donoghue Cup to Rathmore joint captains, Mark T Reen and Pat Cremin. EKB Chairman, Tim Ryan thanked the Fitzgerald Stadium for the use of the wonderful facilities, congratulated both teams on a great game and Rathmore on winning.

Dr Crokes: Keith Flynn, Aaron Murphy, Gary Murphy, Diarmuid Galvin, Jason Lyne, Mark Egan, McDara DeWillis (0-1), Chris Lawlor (0-1), Shane Lyne, Jordan Kiely (0-2), Gavin O Shea, Bryan O Shea (Capt) (0-1), Tony Brosnan(0-5f), Michael Sheahen, Niall O Riordan. Subs: Chris Doncel, Michael Burns (0-1), Gavin Whit

Rathmore: Gavin Breen, Tadgh Moynihan, Conor Jenkins, Michael Mahony, Pat Cremin, Cathal Murphy, Padraig Desmond, Brian Moynihan (0-2), Tom Kelleher, Cillian O'Connor, John Keeffe, Donnacha McCarty, Shane Ryan (1-7;2f), TJ Friel, Conor Buckley. Subs: John Friel, Mark T. Reen, Mark Nagle

Referee: Donal Casey (Scartaglin)


CONGRATULATIONS to the East Kerry competitors who qualified for the Munster Finals at the county finals of Scór Sinsear, last Saturday. They were Rince Foirne(Glenflesk), Aithriseoireacht(Spa), Ballad Group (Kilcummin) and Set Dancing (Kilcummin). Best of luck in the Munster Final, which will be held in University of Limerick, on Sunday March 30 starting at 2.30pm.

The East Kerry Scór na bPaistí is taking place next Saturday, March 22 in Fossa Community Centre. Question Time is on at 12noon followed by the full Scór programme at 1.30pm. The number of entries for each category is very large, with up to 150 children from East Kerry Competing. The standard of this age group always seems to amaze and you can be guaranteed a fantastic day of entertainment.


East Kerry Senior League Division 1

Legion 2-8 Rathmore 1-8

Glenflesk 1-14 Gneeveguilla 1-13

Kilcummin 2-8 Scartaglen 0-7

Currow 0-14 Cordal 0-12

* The East Kerry Board Delegates meeting will be held on Tuesday March 26 in the Killarney Heights Hotel at 9pm


Promoted Links

Promoted Links