Mulvihill returns to sideline


FOLLOWING on from the announcement of Joe Shannon as the new Listry manager last week, one of the more interesting changes in the Novice ranks for 2013 is the return of former County Championship manager with Feale Rangers Johnny Mulvihill ( below) to his native parish of Moyvane in place of James Fleming who was appointed Gneeveguilla manager prior to Christmas.

After stepping down from Feale Rangers at the end of 2010, Mulvihill contested the position of Kerry County Board chairman in 2011 after Jerome Conway vacated the position before losing the subsequent contest to present incumbent Patrick O'Sullivan.

Ballydonoghue, Fossa and Knocknagoshel all have new managers as well, John O'Carroll replacing Mike Henchy at the North Kerry club, Rathmore native Den is Reen and John Brosnan replacing James O'Shea at the East Kerry side, while Eamon Walsh replaces Jack O'Connell at the St Kierans club.

Last year's runners-up in the Novice grade Lispole have Brendan O'Shea in situ once more, while Mike Crowley stays on with Templenoe after guiding the club to Division Three of the County League last year. Neighbouring Kilgarvan, meanwhile, have appointed Colm Kelliher to look after the club's footballers this year.

Mike Enright remains on with Beale while Conor Heaphy, Patrick O'Brien and Mike McCarthy stay on with fellow Shannon Rangers side Ballylongford. Despite doubts about their respective ability to enter teams into the future both Renard and Valentia have management teams in place for their senior sides, Pat McCrohan for the former while John Daly will be looking after the 'Young Islanders'.

St Senans and Cromane are the only sides in the grade yet to confirm their management teams at the present time.

There's no change at two of the former recent winners of the Novice Championship, Pat O'Shea stays on with Scartaglin after leading them to a long overdue victory in the competition last August, while 2009 winners Churchill still have both Kenneth Lenihan (manager) and Brian Daly (trainer) in charge of their senior team for 2013.