Knock go forward to face Emmets as Ballyduff hold off Duagh surge

Lisselton NS in the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 4/5 teacher final at Austin Stack park Tralee on Thursday. Photo by Paul Tearle
Lisselton NS in the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 4/5 teacher final at Austin Stack park Tralee on Thursday. Photo by Paul Tearle

North Kerry SFC

Round 1 Replay

St Senans 1-10

Knocknagoshel 1-15

THIS was a fast open game of football with high scoring on both sides.

Both teams were on equal par in the first half with points coming for Knocknagoshel from Edmund and James Walsh scoring six of their seven points. Knocknagoshel's only other scorer of the half came from John O'Keeffe between the first and 30th minutes.

St Senans target men Darragh Kennelly and David Foran scored five points between them with a great penalty goal from wing-back John Barry in the fifth minute. Half-time score Senans 1-5 Knocknagoshel 0-7.

The second that proved to be the most entertaining with some magnificent points from brothers Edmund and James Walsh. James was on the scoreboard first with a point from the 60 meter line in the 31st.

Next up was brother Edmund in the 32nd minute to split the posts in just as dramatic style as his brother. This type of long range shooting was impossible to defend against. St Senans target man Darragh Kennelly split the posts in the 34th minute from a free.

In quick reply Edmund Walsh split the posts again from distance. St Senans went on to score a point a piece from David Foran, Mike Behan, Darragh Kennelly and Paudie Quille to finish out the half, but Knocknagoshel were not over yet and a great goal from wing-forward Kieran long who played well throughout, with five more points in the half left .

Knocknagoshel to go on to meet Listowel Emmets in the quarter-finals.

St Senans: Eoin O'Connell, Pa Quille, Brendan O'Connell, Austin Quilter, Seán T Dillon, Seán Weir, John Barry, Jason Browne, Richard Kelliher, Alan Kennelly, Jack Twomey, David Foran, Mark Behan, Darragh Kennelly, Paudie Quille Subs: Brendan Whelan for Brendan O'Connell, Luke Lynch for Austin Quilter, Michael Keane for Sean Weir, Sean O'Connell for Jack Twomey

Knocknagoshel: Gearoid Kelly, Declan O'Connell, Padraig Reidy, Michael Brosnan, Michael Keane, Michael Walsh, Gary Downey, Edmund Walsh(c), Shane O'Connell, Kieran Long, James Walsh, Conor Sheehan, John O'Keeffe, Dan Roche, John Brosnan Subs: Joesph Regan for Dan Roache, Michael Shine for Gary Downey

Referee: Mike Hennesey (Ballyduff)

Round 1

Duagh 0-9

Ballyduff 1-7

THIS was a hard fought game with scores hard to come by.

At half-time Ballyduff were up 1-3 to Duagh's 0-2 – with Mikey Boyle's two shots on target being saved by Duagh goalkeeper Sean Lane, the margin could have been a lot worse.

Duagh weren't playing as well as a unit as they would have liked.

Their attacks were read out by Ballyduff's two young corner backs Kevin Bowler and Cathal Kearney. Duagh only managed two points in the half from Gerald McCarthy and Anthony Maher.

As the second half got underway Duagh started to gel. They pushed Ballyduff to the narrowest of margins, with the O'Connor brothers Maurice, Aaron and Nigel as well as Kieran Quirke playing some courageous football.

The clock, however, was against their comeback and they fell just short. So as the reigning champions exit the championship. Ballyduff go on to play Brosna in the quarter-final.

Duagh: Sean Lane, Eoin Kelly, Maurice O'Connor, Diarmuid Foley, Aaron O'Connor, Kieran Quirke, John Sheeran, Peter Sheeran, Denis Lane, Anthony Maher, Jason Carmody, Tim Quirke, Gerard McCarthy, Nigel O'Connor, Daniel O'Donoghue Subs: Tim Scanlon for Tim Quirke, Tom Sullivan for Denis Lane, Tom Scanlon for Gerard McCarthy, Kieran Lucey for Daniel O'Donoghue

Ballyduff: Padraig Harrington, Kevin Bowler, Paddy Moran, Cathal Kearney , Evan Doyle, Bobby O'Sullivan, John Paul Leahy, Gary O'Brien, Aidan Boyle, Pat Joe Connolly, Liam Boyle, Eddie Joy, Mikey Boyle, Barry O'Grady, Padraig Boyle Subs: Roger Costello for Barry O'Grady

Referee: Billy McEilligott (Listowel Emmets)


U16 Division 2 Semi Final

St Senans 4-10 Finuge 0-8

U16 Division 3 Semi Finals

Ballyduff 1-8 Tarbert/Moyvane 1-15

Duagh 2-5 Beale 4-11


Saturday November 23


St Senans B v Tarbert B, 3pm Venue TBC

U21 Championship Semi Final

Asdee/Ballylongford v Finuge/Duagh, 3pm Venue TBCSunday, November 24

NK SFC Quarter-Finals

St Senans or Knocknagoshel v Listowel Emmets in Duagh at 1pm

Castleisland Desmonds v Moyvane in in Ballybunion, 1pm

Brosna v Duagh or Ballyduff in in Ballybunion, 2.30pm

The first semi-final will take place on the weekend of December 1; the CCC will look at that at their meeting on Tuesday November 19


Promoted Links

Promoted Links