Hurling wins for Kilocrim, Kilmoyley and O'Dorney

David Brosnan, Gavin Brouder and Darragh Mackessy from Killocrim lift the shield in the two teacher final at the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Hurling Finals in Austin Stacks Park. photo: Paul Tearle
David Brosnan, Gavin Brouder and Darragh Mackessy from Killocrim lift the shield in the two teacher final at the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Hurling Finals in Austin Stacks Park. photo: Paul Tearle

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Hurling Finals

WE were treated to a feast of hurling on Wednesday last in the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Finals which were played under splendid sunshine in Austin Stack Park.

In the opening game of the evening Killahan NS produced a fine first half performance and matched their opponents Killocrim NS stroke for stroke in the Division 4 final. However, the physically stronger Killocrim boys played skillful hurling inspired by captain Gavin Brouder, Jacob Lucey, Cillian Brophy andThomas Barrett in the second half and captured the school's first title in this Allianz Cumann na mBunscol competition.

The Division 3 final saw Kilmoyley and Killury do battle in a fiercely competitive game. In the earlier rounds of the league Kilmoyley had easily dismissed their Causeway neighbours. However, under the keen eye of Kerry senior selector Pádraig Regan the Killury boys and girls matched their physically stronger opponents with skill and honest endeavour all the way. However, the boys and girls from Kilmoyley led at the end of a highly entertaining Allianz Cumann na mBunscol final 2-6 to 3-0.

In the Division 1 final Kilfynn the mini-sevens champions for 2012 and 2013 took on rivals Abbeydorney. The Abbeydorney boys were determined under the watchful eye of Allianz Cumann na mBunscol co-ordinator Conor Kearney to atone for their performance in the mini-sevens final at the hands of the highly skilful Kilflynn team when the Crotta boys came with a late rally to snatch victory.

This game opened at a blistering pace with both teams trying frantically to gain an early advantage Cillian Spillane opened the Abbeydorney account but moments later Darragh O'Donoghue levelled for Kilflynn. Oisín Maunsell hit the the Kilflynn net with a pile driver and Dean O'Brien landed a long range point to extend the lead. The Kilflynn response was immediate as Darragh O'Donoghue landed another free and Eamonn Rohan scored a brilliant goal to tie the game.

Both teams were guilty of poor shooting as each went in search of the lead score.That score eventually came from a well struck free by Abbeydorney captain Killian Spillane. On the stroke of half-time Cillian was presented with another chance to extend his sides lead from a 20-metre free. While all present expected an easy tap over Cillian struck a Shane Brick style pile-driver past a line of defenders for the all important goal to leave his side leading at half time 2-3 to 1-2.

Abbeydorney got off to a brilliant start in the second half with two well taken goals from inside forwards Jack Sheehan and Shane O'Donovan to stretch their lead in this highly competitive final. Darragh O'Donoghue landed three more points from frees and James Sheehan narrowed the gap further with a fine point.

However, with Adam Mansell, Dean O'Brien and Seán Holden in outstanding form there was no way through for the match saving goal. Jack Sheehan and Oisín Maunsell landed goals and two points from Cillian Spillane and Oisín Maunsell ensured victory for the boys in the famous bleak and amber.

Credit Kilflynn who fought till the end and their outstanding Eamonn Rohan landed the final point ton leave the final score 5-5 to 1-7 in Abbeydorney's favour.

Abbeydorney: Seán Holden, Owen McCarthy, Shane Byrne, Dean O'Brien, Robbie Sheehan, Cillian Spillane, Adam Maunsell, Oisín Maunsell, Keith O'Connor, Shane Donovan, Jack Sheehan. Sub: Mikey Clifford

Kilflynn: Tadhg McKenna, Eamonn Rohan, Aodhán McKenna, Daniel O'Rourke, James Sheehan, Darragh O'Donoghue, Sean Murnane, Daniel Quirke, Declan O'Donoghue, Ryan McElligott, Darragh Murnane