Ballylongford take crown

Division 2 Final Ballylongford 0-15 -- Ballydonogue 0-7

Ballylongford North Kerry Division 2 League Champions 2013 after defeating Ballydonoghue in the final played in Asdee on Saturday evening last. Photo: John Stack
Ballylongford North Kerry Division 2 League Champions 2013 after defeating Ballydonoghue in the final played in Asdee on Saturday evening last. Photo: John Stack

A MUCH anticipated game between two neighbours, which proved to be worth the wait for Ballylongford supporters.

It took only 26 seconds for Ballydonoghue's target man Paul Kennelly to get on the scoreboard with a point. A free awarded to Ballylongford was converted by Kieran Mulvihill.

Again it was Ballylongford in the sixth minute who split the posts from the boot of Liam McEilligott.

Ballydonogue's number 1, Shane Thorton, was kept busy when he saved a certain goal from centre-back Ballylongford's Daniel Lane. A free was converted by Paul Kennelly in the 8th minute, he pointed in the 11th minute and converted a free in the 13th minute. A free awarded to Ballylongford was converted in the 18th minute by Jeremiah Tydings. A 22nd minute point from full-forward Eddie Mangan brought the sides level.

Up pops Ballydonoghue's danger man Paul Kennelly in the 26th minute to split the posts that was to be the last score of the half for Ballydonoghue. An injury to midfielder Barry Shanahan changed the course of the game as up unitl this point midfield was a really battle ground.

Ballylongford went on to score two more points in the half – a free from Kieran Mulvihill and Brendan Bambury point – to leave the half-time score Ballylongford 0-6 Ballydonoghue 0-5.

Ballylongford hit the ground running in the second half when Eddie Mangan split the posts, following it up with a second score just moments later. In the fourth minute Jeremiah Tydings pointed.

Ballydonoghue just seemed to lose shape at midfield. Martin O'Mahoney had been playing great football, but the loss of his partner proved to much. All breaking ball was going Ballylongford's way.

In the seventh minute Kieran Mulvihill pointed for Ballylongford, followed in quick reply by a point from team mate Joe McCarthy. The next score didnt come until the 12th minute from Brendan Bambury.

Thirty seconds later Ballylongford were on the board again through Mangan. Ballydonoghue's only scorer of the match Paul Kennelly split the posts in the 15th minute.

With a few episodes of handbag stuff going on – leading to the flashing of yellow and red cards – the next score didn't come until the 26th minute from Ballylongford's Brendan Bambury.

The last score for Balllylongford came in the 30th minute from midfielder Derek Nolan. Into injury time Kennelly nabbed a consolation point.

Ballylongford: Paudie Moroney, Stephen Mulvihill, Micheal McEllistrem, Moss Kenrick, Eamon McEllligott, Daniel Lane, Liam McElligott, Kenneth Sheehy, Derek Nolan, Kieran Mulvihill, Jeremiah Tydings, Joe McCarthy, Matt OConnor, Eddie Mangan, Brendan Bambury Subs Sean Kennelly for Brendan Bambury, Cathal OCarroll for Eamon McElligott, Padraig O Neill for Matt OConnor, Pat Kennelly for Moss Kendrick, Liam McCarthy for Joe McCarthy

Ballydonoghue: Shane Thornton, Billy Foley, John Enright, Barren Gogarty, Stephen Lonergan, Diarmuid Behan, Patrick Kennelly, Martin OMahony, Barry Shanahan, Darragh O'Shea, Thomas Kennelly, Daniel Riordan, Paul Kennelly, Jim Cremin, Billy Joy, Subs Padraig Lyons for Barry Shanahan, Jack Gogarty for Darrenn Gogarty, David OConnor for Stephen Lonergan, Dean Dowling for Darragh O'Shea, Wayne Dowling for Jim Cremin

Referee: Mike Hennssey (Ballyduff)

* The Board would like to thank Sean and Irene Carr the Store Asdee for sponsoring man of the match for the Divison 2 Final which went to the hard working Kieran Mulivhill.

* As we are coming to the conculsion of the North Kerry Leagues The Board would like to take this opportunity in showing our apperication to our sponsor McCarthy Insurances Listowel who sponsors Divison 1 throught to division 5. This competition is of great benefit for our clubs in preparing for the championship and the inclusion of all players. So thank you again to Sean McCarthy and his team.


Lyons Family Knocknagoshel, Greaney Families Castleisland & Moyvane, Keanr Family Brosna, Linnane Family Ballydonoghue, Egan Family Rahee, O;Regan Family Koolagown, McNamara Family Asdee & Ballydonoghue, McCarthy Family Listowel, Joyce Family Ballybunion, O;Connor Family Clounamon, Browne Family Ballyheigue & Ballyduff.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links