Shane returns to Causeway Comp to present awards

Tadhg Evans

Kerry hurler Shane Conway has been making a great name for himself on the hurling field in recent times, not least for helping University College Cork (UCC) to Fitzgibbon Cup glory in February.

But upon visiting his former school, Causeway Comprehensive, in recent days, Shane discovered plenty more at the school are queuing up to make a star turn of their own - and not just on the hurling field. That's because Shane was at hand to present prizes at the school's Student Awards night recently - at which almost 150 accolades were handed out to talented student.

"This year's awards clearly demonstrated the huge commitment by staff and students to our school and the variety of talent that is within Causeway Comprehensive School," Principal Cathal Fitzgerald said.

"This night is the culmination of the hard work and dedication of the students of Causeway Comprehensive School." These were thoughts echoed by the awards co-ordinator, Pat Moran, who described the night as a great way "to celebrate the brilliant accomplishments of the staff and pupils".

Among the most noteworthy of the prizes went to Kate Kearney - who received the Senior Principal's Award recognising the Outstanding Leaving Cert Student of the Year - and to Keith Flynn, who took the equivalent prize for Junior Cert students. Other academic prizes included the Canon Willie O'Connor Award for the best Leaving Cert Irish result, secured by Conor O'Keeffe for his performance in last year's Irish exams.

Jack O'Sullivan, meanwhile, won the John O'Regan Award for outstanding overall results at Leaving Cert level, and he has since gone on to study Physiotherapy at University of Limerick. Killian Dooley received the Lucille O'Sullivan Award having inspired through his approach and attitude towards his studies, while Des O'Sullivan won the 'Spirit of the School' Award in memory of the late Eileen Sheehan.

Away from the academic side of things, Abbeydorney's Jack Parker and Ballyheigue's Ciaran Casey won the senior hurler of the year and footballer of the year prizes respectively, with Mairead Brosnan and Kate Kearney winning the senior camogie and ladies football prizes. Katelynn Stack was named as senior basketball player of the year, meanwhile.

The sports awards followed a successful year for the school on this front, having secured an under-16 football and hurling Munster double, with the ladies football team also winning a Munster title. The under-15 girls basketball team made it to an All-Ireland final, while Daniel O'Loughlin was named golfer of the year following the school's impressive showing in the Kerry Golf Championship.

Awards were also presented for matters such as music, full attendance, debating, and public speaking. The Student Awards Night for Causeway Comprehensive took place in the school on Monday. The awards were presented by former student Mr. Shane Conway, Kerry and University College Cork hurler, fresh from his Fitzgibbon Cup success. 

There were a total of 147 awards presented on the night. This night is the culmination of the hard work and dedication of the students of Causeway Comprehensive School.  Kate Kearney received the Senior Principal's Award as the Outstanding Student of the Year in Leaving Certificate while Keith Flynn received the Junior Principal's Award for the Outstanding Student at Junior Cycle.

Conor O'Keeffe received the Canon Willie O'Connor Award for receiving the highest result in Irish in Leaving Certificate 2018. Conor is currently studying PE and Irish teaching in University of Limerick. Jack O'Sullivan received the John O' Regan Award for achieving outstanding results in the Leaving Certificate overall. Jack is also in University of Limerick studying physiotherapy.

Killian Dooley won the Lucille O'Sullivan Award for his inspiring approach and attitude towards school. While Des O'Sullivan won the Spirit of the School Award in memory of the late Eileen Sheehan, whose family has made a major contribution to the school. 

There were many other student awards presented on the night for areas including Sport, Music, Culture & Ethos, Attendance, and Diligence and Achievement. Ciaran Casey of Ballyheigue, won the Senior Footballer of the Year Award. Jack Parker who plays hurling with Abbeydorney, won the Senior Hurling Award and Mairead Brosnan, won the Senior Camogie Player of the Year Award along with Kate Kearney who also won Senior Ladies Football Award. Katelyn Stack, won the Senior Basketball Player of the Year Award. Kerry minor football panel members Kevin Goulding and Oisin Maunsell received players of the year in the under sixteen categories in both football and hurling. 

This year the school had a number of successful victories especially in sport and were honoured for such achievements such as the under sixteen team's double Munster victories in hurling and football were marked on the night, as well as our Senior Ladies Football team who also secured a Munster title while our under fifteen basketball team were also honoured for reaching the All-Ireland Cup Final. The school's first ever Golfer of the year award was won by Daniel O'Loughlin after the schools impressive victory in the Kerry Golf Champion. 

Ruby O'Riordan, Lauren Costello and Darragh Leahy received special awards for full attendance in their years at school. Awards for Music were also given to Caoimhe Flahive (Ballyheigue) and Emma Fitzgerald (Ballyduff). Our school musical stars Molly Frehill and Cian Doherty were honoured as well as Katelyn Diggins who receives a Public Speaking and Debating award.

The awards co-ordinator Pat Moran said "It was a great night to celebrate the brilliant accomplishments of the staff and pupils of Causeway Comprehensive School".

School Principal Cathal Fitzgerald stated that "this year's awards clearly demonstrated the huge commitment by staff and students to our school and the variety of talent that is within Causeway Comprehensive School"