| 13.6°C Dublin

Kingdom ploughers to vie for national gold


The National Ploughing Championships are getting underway again.

The National Ploughing Championships are getting underway again.

The National Ploughing Championships are getting underway again.


MASTERS of the plough in the Kingdom are fired up for the return of the All-Irelands - at Ratheniska, Co Laois - with 16 Kerry contestants competing in 13 categories between September 15 and 17 next week.

The cohort includes seven ploughers to have won, between them, 11 All-Ireland medals over the years. 

It’s another opportunity for the men and women of the plough from Kerry to show their skilled control of the blades in a proud county tradition fired up over the years by numerous national gold medals.

Sadly, the atmosphere won't be the same with the trade exhibition cancelled by the National Ploughing Association in May due to the uncertainty over mass events in the pandemic.

This is Kerry Newsletter

The top stories from the Kingdom in news and sport, direct to your inbox every week

This field is required

Nonetheless, the Kerry ploughers will be just as electrified putting it up to their competitors from across the land. 

Kerry will be represented by eight competitors in six classes on Wednesday, four competitors in four classes on Thursday and four competitors in three classes on Friday.

“The Kerry Ploughing Association wishes the best of luck to all the Kerry competitors and hopefully they can add to our 47 All Ireland titles,” PRO Tom O’Mahony told The Kerryman.

The Programme of Ploughing Classes 2021 is as follows

Wednesday September 15:

3 FURROW Conventional Senior Plough Classes – Colm Dineen.

U21 Conventional Junior Plough Class – Daniel Burke.

U28 Conventional Junior Plough Classes – Michael J Donegan.

Intermediate Reversible Plough Class – Michael O’Halloran, Tommy McCarthy, Patrick Boyle.

Vintage 2 Furrow Trailer Plough Class – Aeneas Horan.

Under 40 Horse Plough Class – Jonathan Trant.

Thursday September 16:

Farmerette Conventional Plough Class – Martina Flynn.

Marcra 2 Furrow Conventional Plough Class – Richard O’Mahony.

Vintage 2 Furrow Mounted Plough Class – Michael Brosnan.

Senior Horse Plough Class – Moss Trant.

Friday September 17:

Junior Conventional Plough Class – Michael P Donegan, John Healy, Philip Healy.

Special Horse Plough Class – Moss Trant.

Loy Digging –Pat Walsh.