New award an honour to Gerardine

Tadhg Evans

Last week saw Coláiste na Sceilge pay tribute to its best, its most talented, its highest achievers - but also its most caring, most compassionate, most respectful, and most driven.

On a day that saw numerous awards handed out in the presence of Kerry Education and Training Board CEO Colm McEvoy - perhaps most notably to Jack Curran and Murphy, the student of the year and junior student of the year respectively - a new prize was donated by former Principal Michael Donnelly in honour of a very special and much-missed member of the school staff.

Secretary Gerardine O'Connell passed away in late 2017, but she epitomised the school ethos, emphasising all those aforementioned traits.

And on the day, it was announced that Abbie O'Sullivan was the person who best showcased these attributes, and Gerardine's son, Fergal, was at hand to present the new perpetual trophy.

"It was not just an event commemorating academic achievements," teacher Sharon Fitzgerald, who was involved in the event's co-ordination, explained to The Kerryman.

"Also among the winners was Síofra O'Shea for her achievements in international basketball, and the clergy was honoured for its support of the school also."

Ms Fitzgerald also congratulated all the other winners on the day and acknowledged what she called a tremendous year for the school.