Bord na nóg hounours Abbeydorney youngsters

Marisa Reidy

AFTER a hugely successful senior club awards night last week, it was the turn of the Abbeydorney youngsters to be honoured in the north Kerry village as the local club held its annual Bord na nOg Awards.

The local GAA sports complex was the venue for Saturday evening's celebration, which was organised to pay tribute to the youngsters of the parish who had shown great commitment and dedication to their club throughout 2013.

In front a very large turnout of parents and supporters, the club laid on a great evening of entertainment including games and quizzes, before Kerry minor players Steve O'Sullivan, Mike O'Leary and JP Byrne presented medals to this year's recipients.

In addition to honouring juvenile teams for their exploits during the year, a special award was presented to Bord na nOg secretary, Brian Murphy, who was named Club Person of the Year.

Saturday's celebration was the second such event to take in the village in as many weeks.

On the previous Saturday the club's senior players were honoured and among those where received awards were Aidan Healy (Senior Player of the Year), Mike O'Leary (Minor Player of the Year), Brendan O'Leary (Under 21 Player of the Year) and Daniel O'Leary (Junior Player of the Year). Stevie O'Sullivan, JP Byrne, Chris McCarthy, Stephen O'Connor, Daniel Brendan and Mike O'Leary received merit awards, as did Shinty players Darragh O'Connell and Brendan O'Leary

The 2013 Club Person of the Year award was given to the club's chairman Gerry Treanor who set up a five year plan earlier this year, local man and club stalwart, Jack Condon, was honoured with the 2013 Hall of Fame Award for his commitment to the club over the years. Saturday night's ceremony also saw well known local businesses Mike Baker Welding Works and Eamon O'Connell Haulage unveiled as the club's first ever sponsors.