Tralee scouts bid adieu to year of celebrations

and Gerard Hobbert, Scout Leader.
and Gerard Hobbert, Scout Leader.
CSI. Also included is Unit Leader, Tommy King, 1st Kerry Tralee CSI.

THE 1st Kerry Unit Tralee Scouting Ireland CSI celebrated on Wednesday the 75th anniversary of scouting in Ireland with a Mass which was celebrated by the Unit Chaplain, Fr Padraig Walsh at the Scout Den, Matt Talbot Road, Tralee.

With over 100 people in attendance it also marked the retirement of section leaders who had given years of dedicated service to the 1st Kerry Unit.

Regional Commissioner Jimmy O'Donnell was loud in his praise of the commitment shown by the outgoing leaders. He thanked them on behalf of the scouting movement in Ireland and made a special presentation to each individual. The outgoing leaders were, Billy Thompson, Noel Cronin, Tony Sayers, Sheila O'Sullivan, Mary Sugrue, Janice McHugh, Margaret Kelly and Michael Hall.

Two other presenations were also made. Firstly to Gerard Hobbert, Scout Leader who received a special award for the 75th anniversary joint overnight camp with the Scout Association of Ireland (SAI) and the 10th Kerry Ballybunion Scout Troop at Foley’s Glen which was attended by the Chief Scout, Peter Dixon and the Regional Commissioner, Jimmy O'Donnell.

The final award went to Jonathon Irwin, Venturer Scout who received his National Scout Award from the Regional Commissioner, Jimmy O’Donnell. This award is the second highest accolade that a scout can achieve in the organisation.

It was a great honour for the 1st Kerry CSI Unit to have one of its members achieve the National Scout Award. Jonathan has been involved in scouting since Cubs and has worked his way up through the ranks of the organisation.

Jonathon completed a conservation project and three hikes which he planned and logged the itinerary.