Kerry senior Ruairí Murphy named on Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

The Listry club man is one of six players from the Sigerson Cup champions, UCC, honoured on the Rising Stars selection

Listry and Kerry footballer Ruairi Murphy is honoured on the Rising Stars Team of the Year

Paul BrennanKerryman

Listry and Kerry footballer Ruairí Murphy has been named on the 2023 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year, the only Kerry man to be included in the team.

Murphy, a student in University College Cork, is named at centre-forward on the Rising Stars selection, which acknowledges outstanding performances from this year’s Sigerson Cup.

UCC won this year’s Sigerson Cup title after beating University of Limerick after extra-time in the final at the SETU Waterford Arena, and the champions have six players named on the Rising Stars team, with Murphy the only one not from Cork among the six.

Beaten finalists UL have five players honoured, while beaten semi-finalists DCU DÉ and TU Dublin each have two players represented.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “We would like to extend our heartiest congratulations to the players recognised in this year’s Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year. We have been thrilled by the tremendous football talent that we have seen throughout the season and look forward to celebrating the players’ and teams’ achievements at a formal ceremony later in the year.”

The Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Star Footballer and Hurler of the Year being will be announced at the Higher Education Awards Ceremony on Monday, April 3. These awards will acknowledge one outstanding performance from this year’s Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup Championships.

2023 Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

Dylan Foley – UCC, Éire Óg, Cork

Páraic Hughes – DCU DÉ, Kilanerin, Wexford

Daniel O’Mahony – UCC, Knocknagree, Cork

Jack Coyne – UL, Ballyhaunis, Mayo

Cian Hanley – TU Dublin, Ballaghaderreen, Mayo

Darragh Cashman – UL, Millstreet, Cork

Shane Merritt – UCC, Mallow, Cork

Bill Carroll – DCU DÉ, Cappincur, Offaly

Paul Keaney – UL, St. Mary’s Kiltoghert, Leitrim

Emmet McMahon – UL, Kildysart, Clare

Ruairí Murphy – UCC, Listry, Kerry

Mark Cronin – UCC, Nemo Rangers, Cork

Cathail O’Mahony – UCC, Mitchelstown, Cork

Darragh Campion – TU Dublin, Skryne, Meath

Ciaran Downes – UL, Kilmihil, Clare