Wesley's win courtesy of mighty Quinn

Stephen Findlater

St Andrew's 1

Wesley College 1

Wesley win 4-3 on penalty strokes

Conor Quinn's goalkeeping heroics saw Wesley College claim their sixth Leinster Schoolboys Senior Cup title in seven years at Belfield, ending St Andrew's one-year reign as champions.

He saved two penalty strokes in the shoot-out as well as producing a full-length dive to deny David Cole a winner two minutes before the end of extra-time, a strike which almost certainly would have won the day.


Those blocks allowed Kirk Shimmins -- a Junior Cup winner last week -- to hold his nerve and complete the win with his side's fourth successful stroke. Indeed, they used their get-out-of-jail-free card in a number of respects after a slick first-half performance was countered by St Andrew's smart tactics.

Punching holes down the left-wing, Wesley's Alan White created an opening for Jonathan Roberts, who was twice blocked by Jakim Bernsden before the second rebound drew a foul for the Ballinteer school's third corner. McCrea shot home a low drag-flick for the opening goal in the 23rd minute.

Andrew's were unshaken, though, and just five minutes from the end of normal time, the equaliser came.

It was simple in its execution as Wesley were light in numbers at the back as Oisin O'Halloran was let free on the right-wing. He looked up to see David Watkins -- the 2010 Senior Cup hero -- racing towards goal and the diagonal pass into the circle was weighted perfectly to allow enough transfer of power into the roof of the net.

It secured extra-time, a period in which Tom Samuel's reverse was blocked by Andrew's Bernsden.

The Booterstown school continued to press forward in extra-time and, when Wesley coughed up a late penalty corner, they had their sights on a winner.

But Cole's strike was brilliantly tipped around the post and Quinn took that confidence boost into the penalty competition, saving two of the first three Andrew's efforts.

St Andrew's: J Bernsden, I Moloney, J Codd, R Nair, D Cole, C Stephens, J Beirne, F Maher, O O'Halloran, L Cole, A Rooney, M Loughrey, E Foy, D Watkins, A Service, B Campbell.

Wesley College: C Quinn, D McCrea, B Chadwick, R Clarke, R Burke, M Lewis, T Samuel, K Shimmins, A Malcolm, A White, C Pullen, A Roberts, S Madeley, L Madeley, J Roberts, R Fitzgerald.