Unforgettable moments for racing legend

8 February 2015; Carlingford Lough, with Tony McCoy up, cross the finish line to win the Hennessy Gold Cup. Leopardstown, Co. Dublin. Picture credit: Cody Glenn / SPORTSFILE

Thurles - March 26, 1992

Tony McCoy has his first winner of his career on the Jim Bolger-trained Legal Steps.

Exeter - September 7, 1994

A first winner in England came on the Gordon Edwards-trained Chickabiddy and he would go on to be crowned champion conditional jockey for the 1994/95 season, his first season based in Britain. The 1995/96 season he became champion jockey for the first time and has been champion ever since.

Warwick - April 2, 2002

Tony McCoy broke a 55-year record held by Sir Gordon Richards for the most winners in a single season when winning on Valfonic at Warwick to bring his tally to 270, which is a feat that he said yesterday "was my greatest achievement and will always be my greatest achievement in racing". He ended that season on 289.

Uttoxeter - August 27, 2002

Richard Dundwoody's record of 1,875 jump winners was beaten by McCoy when he won on Mighty Montefalco and he later became the first jump jockey to ride 2,500 winners in 2006.

Aintree Grand National - April 10, 2010

Despite all the heavy falls and broken bones, it was winning the Aintree Grand National on the JP McManus owned Don't Push It in 2010 (inset) that managed to reduce McCoy to tears as he added the world's most famous race to his incredible portfolio for the first time.

Towcester - November 7, 2013

McCoy completed a landmark that he claimed was the first "I could be very proud of" when winning on the JP McManus-owned Mountain Tunes which was his 4,000th winner. Yesterday's win in the Hennessy Gold Cup at Leopardstown was his 4,315th jump winner, while on Saturday he rode his 200th winner in Britain for a ninth time - a milestone reached by only one other jump jockey.

Leopardstown - February 8, 2015

A day after announcing his retirement, McCoy wins the Hennessy Gold Cup for the first time on Carlingford Lough. Carlingford Lough was his 4,315th winner and counting. He rides at Catterick today, at Ayr tomorrow, Chepstow on Wednesday, and Kelso on Thursday.