Trophy win is no guarantee of High place in market

Niall Cronin

TOMORROW'S Racing Post Trophy is likely to cause a stir in the betting for next year's Epsom Derby and possibly even the 2000 Guineas at Newmarket.

The winner is likely to be shortened and connections will go into the winter with dreams of Classic glory.

Camelot is most of the rage as he represents the ever dangerous Aidan O'Brien team, who also have Learn, while Zip Top gives Ireland three decent chances in the six-runner race.

Michael Halford's Casamento won the race last year, meaning we now look for three successive Irish winners after St Nicholas Abbey in 2009.

But not unless we have found another High Chaparral should punters be quick to snap up ante-post prices as we look back at what the previous 10 winners went on to achieve.

2010: Casamento

Changed trainer over the winter as expected, but Casamento has only won once for Mahmood Al Zarooni and has struggled with a hit-and-miss campaign this season. Stuffed on last start in last Saturday's Champion Stakes.

2009: St Nicholas Abbey

Another to struggle since landing Group One honours, St Nicholas Abbey only had one run as a three-year-old and has won twice this season as a four-year-old. Fifth in the Arc and maybe something at the Breeders' Cup lies ahead.

2008: Crowded House

The well-travelled colt raced 15 times since winning the Racing Post but has failed to win any of them. His best run since was arguably in the Dubai World Cup last year when ninth but only beaten three lengths.

2007: Ibn Khaldun

Another who never won after his Group One success, but only had three subsequent runs, one as a three-year-old and two last year but none of which were inspiring after he missed the whole of 2009.

2006: Authorized

The last success story of this race, Authorized won the race when it was held at Newbury and went on to win both the Dante and the Derby on his next two starts the following season. He also won the Juddmonte of 2007, proving he was a real class act.

2005: Palace Episode

A 20/1 surprise winner of the Racing Post, he joins an unfortunate crew never to win again.

2004: Motivator

Like Authorized, Motivator went the Dante and Derby route in his three-year-old year and won both. Didn't win after the Derby but ran with great credit in the Eclipse, Irish Champion Stakes and the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe.

2003: American Post

The last French winner of the race went back to his native land to claim a hat-trick at three but didn't land a blow in either the English Derby or the Arc.

2002: Brian Boru

Won the Racing Post and returned to form back at Doncaster a year later by winning the St Leger. Raced on to some limited success but one of the more successful recent winners.

2001: High Chaparral

Undoubtedly the best winner of this race in the last decade, High Chaparral went on to win his next four before finishing third in the Arc and then winning at the Breeders' Cup. As a four-year-old he returned to win three of his four starts including the Irish Champion Stakes.