| 12.9°C Dublin

U18s turn focus on Wales after Scots stalemate

rep of ireland 1


THE Ireland U18 Boys Schools' side were restricted to a point by Scotland last week, and will now conclude their Centerary Shield campaign with an away double-header.

A Lawrence Shankland strike for Scotland two minutes into the second-half at Waterford's RSC on Friday cancelled out Sean Maguire's opener just minutes before the break.

CBS Kilkenny star Maguire looked to have sent Ireland on their way to a second-consecutive victory, following their St Patrick's Day win over Northern Ireland, when he latched on to Danny Morrissey's cross.

The boys in green will now head on their travels to Cardiff, where they take on Wales on Friday, April 12, before concluding their campaign against England in Brighton on April 26.

After goalkeeper Evan Comerford produced a crucial save to deny Shankland a Scottish opener in the opening minutes of the contest, the home side quicky settled and found their rhythm.

Cork's Brian Lenihan just missed the target with his shot after being set up by Clonkeen College's Paul Moffatt within minutes. Just before the half-hour mark, Anthony O'Donnell, another Cork student, forced a good save from the Scottish goalkeeper with a long-range effort.

Both goals arrived within four minutes of each other either side of half-time, and Timmy Molloy had a great chance to put Ireland back in front after the equaliser.

However, Galway man Timmy Molloy missed the target when Jack Doherty's cross found him free at the back post.

In fact, the visitors were just inches from taking the points when Steven Forbes saw his 25-yard volley come back off the crossbar just after the hour mark.

Ireland: Evan Comerford, Anthony O'Donnell, Ryan Matthews, Paul Moffat (John Kavanagh 66), Colm Horgan, Brian Lenihane, Barry Sheedy (Jack Doherty 46), Seani Maguire, Danny Morrissey, Timmy Molloy (Rob Lenane 80) Joey O'Brien.

Scotland: Kieran Hughes, Ross McGeachie (Stuart Close 72 Alan Lawson, Matthew Craig, Ryan McGeever, Matthew Cooper, Conot McVey, Scott Ferries, Lawrence Shankland, Kieran Anderson-Ballantyne, Steven Forbes.

Referee: Noel Purcell (Waterford)