| 7.3°C Dublin

Third time's a charm for Celtic

WOLFE TONE CELTIC ...................................4

CELTIC STARS ............................................0

It proved third-time lucky for Wolfe Tone as they lifted the Division 1 Cup.

The Bray side had lost 3-0 and 3-1 in the two Pat O'Toole Division 1 League games this season against their Shillelagh opponents.

But a Robbie Healy double in the second half at Celtic Park in Arklow last Saturday afternoon paved the way for a first-ever trophy for Celtic.

Clinton McCormack's fierce first-half drive gave them a 1-0 cushion while man of the match Paddy O'Brien scored for the third straight match in the competition.

With 28 goals between them, neither Paddy Byrne nor Lukasz Niewiadomski could help Stars – last season's Division 2 League and Thomas Scott winners – find a way past Wolfe Tone's veteran defensive trio of Stephen Martin (42), Darren Keating (40) and Stuart Purcell (38).

With Corey Bishop inspired between the sticks, Celtic broke the deadlock in the 24th minute.

Graham Devlin's superb cross-field pass left to right released McCormack to fire a cracking angled drive on the run to the far corner of the net.

A massive slice of luck came with their second goal in the 61st minute.

After a free was cleared, McCormack lumped the ball back into the box. As two defenders hesitated, Stars goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne came to collect.

He was deceived by the bounce and slipped which saw Healy head into an empty net.

Having scored against Wicklow Rovers and St. Patrick's AFC in the previous rounds, O'Brien made it 3-0 in the 75th minute.

Gordon Byrne's free was cleared and Conor Whelan sent O'Brien in behind Mark Egan. And the winger danced into the box to slot in from 12-yards.

The Temple Sportsfield-based outfit sealed victory in the 83rd minute.

Whelan's ball down the right channel saw Healy get the better of Tony Byrne before cutting in and scoring his 12th goal of the campaign.

Wolfe Tone Celtic: Corey Bishop; Paul Melia, Stephen Martin, Darren Keating, Stuart Purcell; Clinton McCormack, Robbie Mullen, Conor Whelan, Darren Devlin; Paddy O'Brien; Robbie Healy.

Subs: Aaron Meaney (for McCormack 83 mins), Sean Tynan (for Devlin 86 mins), Barry Buckley (for Purcell 87 mins), Jamie Peacock (not used).

Celtic Stars: Ciaran Byrne; Gordon Byrne, Mark Egan, Peter Ryan, Tony Byrne; Denis Kealy, John Kavanagh, Eugene Jordan, Daniel Egan; Lukasz Niewiadomski, Paddy Byrne.

Subs: Sean Kinsella (for Jordan 52 mins), Pawel Piscorz (for Gordon Byrne 77 mins), Ray Murphy (for Niewiadomski 80 mins), Robert Ryan, Stephen Murphy (both not used). Referee: Gerry Boland. Assistants: David Earls, Gavin Colfer.

Paul Dowling