| 7.2°C Dublin

Spot-on DDSL reach Kennedy Cup final

THE 2012 SFAI Kennedy Cup final will be an all Leinster affair after both the Dublin District Schoolboy League (DDSL) and Wexford claimed semi-final wins yesterday.

The DDSL beat the North Dublin Schoolboy League (NDSL) 4-1 on penalties after a 1-1 stalemate at a wind and rain-swept University of Limerick.

St Kevin's Boys' ace Nathan Noone-Garland opened the scoring for the DDSL in the 17th minute with a powerful header from a Steven Kinsella corner.

But the NDSL were back on level terms shortly after the break when Dylan Coleman swept home a low drive from inside the box.

Coleman's strike was the first goal the DDSL have conceded in this tournament.

Kinsella had the ball in the net direct from a corner 10 minutes from time, but the DDSL's celebrations were short-lived as the ref awarded a free out for pushing.

With neither side managing to find a winner the game went straight to penalties.

Noone-Garland, Kinsella, Brandon Payne and Sean Whelan netted from the spot for the DDSL, while keeper Eric Donnelly played his part with a fine penalty save. Yousef Mahdy scored for the NDSL.

Wexford, meanwhile, edged out Cork 1-0 in the corresponding semi-final. Stephen Hempenstall drove home a thudding free-kick 12 minutes after the break.


Kennedy Cup S/Finals: NDSL 1 DDSL 1 (DDSL win 4-1 on penalties), Wexford 1 Cork 0

Kennedy Plate S/Finals: Waterford 2 Kerry 0, Kilkenny 2 Limerick District 1

Kennedy Bowl S/Finals: Cavan Monaghan 3 Dundalk 0, NEC 0 West Cork 0 (NEC win 6-5 on penalties)

Kennedy Shield S/Finals: Kildare 6 Carlow 0, Longford 1 Athlone 0

Kennedy Trophy S/Finals: North Tipperary 3 South Tipperary 0, Mayo 3 Roscommon 2