| 16.9°C Dublin

rathnew squander great opportunity


Ten-man Evergreen twice came from behind to book their place in round two of the 2013/14 season Leinster Senior Cup.

A patched-up Rathnew side twice led at Shamrock Park on Sunday afternoon.

But Chris Whearty's 75th-minute winner saw the Kilkenny team set up a second-round meeting with reigning FAI Junior Cup holders Sheriff YC.

It took the Villagers just three minutes to go in front. Jason Taylor left three opponents in his wake and slotted past Pierce Dargan from 10 yards.

But the visitors equalised on the quarter-hour. Rathnew player/manager Barry Mernagh took down Brian Jordan in the box, and Whearty sent Cathal Moody the wrong way from the spot.

Yet, Evergreen were reduced to 10 men in the 31st minute as Craig Eardley was dismissed after an altercation with Chris Gregory.

Put clear by Kenneth Doyle, Taylor chipped Dargan to perfection with a 15-yard lob, but the away outfit made it 2-2 in the 71st minute.

In a counter attack, David Grincell's low cross saw unmarked substitute Cian Morton tap-in from four yards.

Then just four minutes later, former Wicklow Rovers man Tommy Earls released Whearty to round Moody and roll the ball into an empty net.

Rathnew AFC: Cathal Moody; Mark Evans, Barry Mernagh, Jason Devlin, Kenneth Doyle; Graham Merrigan, Dean Franey, Chris Gregory, Joshua Graham; Shane Doyle.Subs: Dylan Franey (for Merrigan 76 minutes), Dale Franey, Jonah Graham, Colin Jameson (all not used).

Evergreen FC: Pierce Dargan, Tommy Earls, Niall Andrews, Oisin Corr, Ivor O'Brien; Craig Eardley, Jamie Owens, Damien Kelly; Chris Whearty, David Grincell; Brian Jordan. Subs: Cian Morton (for Kelly 55 mins), Ciaran Snype (for Grincell 84 mins), Ben Hickey, John Brett, Dylan Drennan, Mark Sleator (all not used).

Referee: Paul O'Brien. Assistants: David Jameson, Michael Kennedy.