| 15°C Dublin

'Quenelle-ka' is charged by English FA over gesture

Close

West Bromwich Albion's Nicolas Anelka. Picture credit: David Davies/PA Wire

West Bromwich Albion's Nicolas Anelka. Picture credit: David Davies/PA Wire

West Bromwich Albion's Nicolas Anelka. Picture credit: David Davies/PA Wire

NICOLAS ANELKA has today been charged by the English Football Association over his controversial 'quenelle' goal celebration.

West Brom's French striker is facing a minimum five-match ban under new English FA rules after the gesture, which some say is an inverted Nazi salute and has anti-Semitic connotations.

Anelka has been charged with making a improper gesture and that it was an aggravated breach, in that it included "a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief."

Anelka, who has denied the goal celebration was intended to be anti-Semitic, made the quenelle salute after scoring in the 3-3 draw against West Ham on December 28.

The English FA said in a statement: "The FA has charged the West Bromwich Albion player Nicolas Anelka following an incident that occurred during the West Ham United versus West Bromwich Albion fixture at the Boleyn Ground on 28 December 2013. It is alleged that, in the 40th minute of the fixture, Anelka made a gesture which was abusive and/or indecent and/or insulting and/or improper, contrary to FA Rule E3[1]."

Anelka has until 6.0pm on Thursday to respond to the charge.


Privacy