| 8.8°C Dublin

Latin flair frames Oak's win

WICKLOW'S Dublin Oak Academy captured their second Leinster Post Primary School Futsal title in four years in Gormanston yesterday.

The Kilcroney school -- who were based in Dublin until recent years -- followed up their 2008 pilot tournament success on a dramatic day of action at Meath's Franciscan College.

Goals from Daniel Vamzini, Juan Carlos Sojo and Luca Biazarro secured a 3-2 victory over Colaiste Choilm, Tullamore.

Jason O'Dwyer and James Mullen scored for the Offaly side but it was all about Dublin Oak's Latin stars.

Led by tournament top scorer on the day and captain Daniel Vanzini, Dublin Oak's three goalscorers on the day were all from Mexico.

Even more incredibly, assistant manager on the day, Alejandro Moreno, of Venezuela, was captain of the side that won the first year provincial title four years ago.

Moreno and boss John McShane watched their side come through the group stages with five wins from five to qualify for the final.

In the girls' section, Dublin earned its representation at next month's All-Ireland finals at the same venue thanks to Loreto Secondary School, Balbriggan's win in the final.

The capital side saw off St Leo's College, Carlow 2-1 to cap an impressive day of action with four wins from five in the group stages.

BOYS' FINAL - Dublin Oak Academy, Kilcroney, Bray: Daniel Vanzini, Juan Luis Cort, Nicolas Sanchez, Fernando Rodrigues, Jose Lomelin, Jorge Flores, Sebastian Garza, Pablo Zubieta, Juan Mena, Juan Carlos Sojo, Luca Bazarro, Jose Miguel Ledesma.

Colaiste Choilm: Conor Langton, Brian Finn, Ross Digan, Joseph Dwyer, Ryan Maher, Tom Furlong, Diarmuid Egan, Ciaran Burke, James Mullen, Jake Lloyd, John Paul Colsh, Jason O'Dwyer.

GIRLS' FINAL - Loreto Secondary School: Eibhlin McCarthey, Lauren Deweer, Naomi Harper, Sorcha McAleenan, Shauna Healy, Laoise McKleenan, Yvonne O'Sullivan, Saoirse McDonaugh, Dominka Lewandowska, Ann Casey.

St. Leo's College: Zoe Lacken, Ciara O'Shea, Toyah Salimon, Ciara Hickson, Olivia Gough, Katie Bullen, Jane Bullen (twins), Aoife Nolan, Nicole Brennan, Chelsie Nolan, Courtney Forbes.