| 10.6°C Dublin

La Salle hit spot to win thriller

RAHENY'S Ardscoil La Salle captured the North Dublin title last week after a thrilling final win over St Fintan's of Sutton at Peamount, writes Gavin Earley.

La Salle came out on top 5-4 in a penalty shootout after the sides could not be separated by a high-scoring 120 minutes of action.

With the scores level at 2-2 after normal time, the contest continued, however, neither side could find the crucial edge and play finished at 3-3. The win caps an incredible two years for the current batch of senior players at La Salle, as they also won the U16 All-Ireland and Metropolitan titles in 2008.

For Fintan's it was double agony as they had only lost a Leinster Senior Cup semi-final on penalty kicks on the same ground -- and facing into the same end -- a fortnight earlier.

Despite Alan Gibbons hitting the post, Fintan's found themselves 1-0 down at the break after Karl Grehin converted a first-half penalty.

Joe O'Riordan cancelled out the opener, only for Lee Bishop to put La Salle back in front and it was left to Lee Mooney to pull Fintan's back from behind one more time before the end of the 90 minutes.

Incredibly, Joe O'Riordan brought Fintan's back from behind for the third time in the game after Bishop added his second, but the Raheny school's goalkeeper, Andrew Jones, was to be the difference in the shootout, saving one and scoring the winner himself.

ARDSCOIL LA SALLE: Andrew Jones, Luke Carter, Karl Roche, Dan Byrne, Mark Coleman, Aaron Collins, Karl Grehin, Mark Jackson, Dan Nugent, Dan Lodge, Lee Bishop.

ST FINTAN'S: David Carroll, Lee Dunne, Ian Fitzsimons, David Lowe, Stephen Chambers, Cian Grossman, Robbie Byrne (Joe O'Riordan 54), Adam McCarthy, Nicky Kelly, Leo Mooney, Alan Gibbon (Daniel Harkin h-t).