| 4.5°C Dublin

Stan the man for Celtic

Kilmore Celtic celebrate their 20th anniversary this year and on Saturday their 20-year-olds breezed through to the next round of the Clifford Cup.

I don't have access to the intricate stats machinery that the television people have but I would say that Kilmore had the bulk of the possession, around 70-30 in terms of percentage, and no player ran more than two kilometers during the game.

Midway through the first half the possession wasn't giving the scoreboard operator much to do so Eoin Kavanagh introduced Messrs Gallagher and Staunton and the effect was almost immediate. John Gallagher controlled a long punt forward rounded a tackle and then the 'keeper before laying a 'gimme' into Paul Staunton's path, 1-0 on 26.


Tony Cranitch denied Chanel parity on 32 when he fisted away a thunderous effort from Ger Kenny and as the kettle began to whistle he smothered a Will Pidgeon effort allowing his team go in for tea a goal to the good.

Kilmore continued to press upon the restart and went two up on the hour mark. Greg Noone fluffed his lines and his clearance fell to Declan 'Hagi' Walsh who, in attempting to beat Noone as he retreated to the goal-line, succeeded in finding the lurking Staunton who slotted home his and Kilmore's second.

Kenny brought out the best in Cranitch when he rifled a low drive from close in after Pidgeon had set him free on 68. In between, and at the other end Noone tipped over a rasping Gallagher volley.

With 14 left on the clock Peter Murphy put the tie to bed when he volleyed home a long Cranitch clearance that had been deflected into his path.

Kilmore Celtic: Tony Cranitch, Dean Russell, Eugene McElligott, William Scully, John Kavanagh, Damien Plunkett, Kevin Russell, Jason Hutton, Declan Walsh, John Sheridan, Niall Connors, Pat Farrell, Peter Murphy, Glen Bradley, Paul Staunton, John Gallagher.

Chanel SSC: Greg Noone, Barry Roe, Kevin Lyons, Sean O'Rourke, David Brennan, Pierce Regan, Francis Clancy, Andrew Joyce, Will Pidgeon, Gerard Kenny, Barry Barker, John O'Sullivan, Patrick Farrell, Enda Logue.