| 12.9°C Dublin

Rovers confirmed as 14 Prem champs

WICKLOW ROVERS A became the latest team etched onto the Heatons/Sportsworld WDSL roll of honour for the 2009/10 season when they secured the Under 14 Premier Division league title.

And they did not even have to kick a ball in battle as the Green and White's claimed the silverware courtesy of a walk-over from Wolfe Tone Youth Club from their proposed fixture at Whitegates last Wednesday week.

Rovers began the campaign back in September 2009 with a resounding 7-0 away win over St. Patrick's Luke Daunt-Smyth, Andrew Yague, Briain O'Donnell, Cian Verney, Dylan Orr, Stuart O'Callaghan and Jordan Pettigrew all shared singles at Kilcashel in Avoca.

Just a week later, Orr led the way with more goals as they left the Temple Sportsfield in Bray with a 7-1 away win over Wolfe Tone.

Tommy Sullivan, Dimitri Kitskan, O'Callaghan, Yague and an own goal accounted for the other scores.

They followed that with a comprehensive 10-0 away success over Newtown Juniors at the start of last October.

Verney helped himself to a treble at the Matt Kelly Memorial Grounds with Orr netting twice.

O'Donnell, O'Callaghan, Pettigrew, Emmett Cullen and Daunt-Smyth contributed to the visitors double figure haul.

Wicklow then registered their first home win by doing the double over St. Patrick's.

Both Orr and Dimitr Kitskan scored twice with Tommy Sullivan also on the mark in the 5-1 triumph.

Still at Whitegates, super-sub O'Donnell fired in two late goals in just three minutes as Rovers saw off Aughrim Rangers by a 4-2 score-line to maintain their 100% record.

Verney and Daunt-Smyth had scored earlier in the first period.

The reverse fixture against Aughrim at Allen Park at the end of the same month brought a 6-1 win. Orr's hat-trick was added to by Yague's double and a Michael Delaney effort.

Newtown's withdrawal yielded a walk-over and another set of three points from their scheduled fixtures at Whitegates.

Rovers then earned an early Christmas present last December as they overcame Arklow Town A 6-1 at the Bridgewater Centre Park.

Daunt-Smyth and Pettigrew both netted twice with Orr and Verney also in goal-scoring form.

With a home match against Arklow remaining, the Green and White's league record is as follows: played nine; won nine (including two walk-over's). In total, they've scored 45 goals, conceded just six and kept two clean sheets.

The Wicklow Rovers A panel consists of: Jordan Pettigrew; Matthew Cullen, Emmett Cullen, Sean Buckley, Dylan Orr, Dimitri Kitskan, Colin Roche, Cian Verney; Luke Daunt-Smith, Stuart O'Callaghan, Brian O'Donnell, Tommy Sullivan, Andrew Yague, David Dowling, Tony Coyle and Michael Delaney. They are jointly managed by Toni Yague with Gary Dowling.

Up to last Thursday, Aughrim (18 points) were still in pole position for the runners-up place. They need just one victory from their up-coming matches at home to Wolfe Tone and away to Arklow.

Six points behind Rangers but with a game in hand, Arklow (12 points) can still finish second. They need Wolfe Tone beat Aughrim, and then defeat both Wolfe and Wicklow themselves.

Wolfe Tone were still mathematically in with a shout. With two games remaining, they stood on 12 points and the best they could hope for was a possible play-off with Aughrim.