| 2.4°C Dublin


Cambridge Boys......................3

Iveagh Trust FC.......................5

YOU would have needed more than your bowl of Frosties to have kept warm in Ringsend on Saturday morning. But Raytown resembled a football haven. Always does.

In charge was 76-year-old Tony Smyth, 45 years a referee and a brother of Mick, one of the League of Ireland's most distinguished goalkeepers.

Both 'keepers had to be sharp. And they were. Compliments to another Smith, Aaron of the home club, and Darren Lawlor of Iveagh.

It was a worthy result for Iveagh. They are in mid-table. Cambridge are at the summit.

Cambridge are a talented side in more ways than one. Jack Walsh is also a brilliant hockey player. Sadly, he had to leave the action shortly after kick-off with a nasty facial injury.

Cambridge missed him. His dedication, courage and temperament will see him flourish in the world of sport.

Matthew Behan is not only the top scorer for Cambridge. He's also a first-class athlete. His pace and sweet left foot opened the scoring on 24 minutes. That's how it stayed at half-time.

The wonderful Jeffrey Fox opened the door for Nathan Maguire to guide in the equaliser seven minutes into the restart.

Ten minutes later, Jason Kong's (Kong) strike was blocked before it eventually ended up in the Cambridge net. And within a minute, a delightful effort from Jamie Crothers put Iveagh 3-1 ahead.

Cambridge faced a mountain. Eight minutes from time, Behan's blistering speed and neat finish made it 3-2. It looked like being a spectacular finale.

But Iveagh responded with two goals in a minute. Dale Smith, with a picture header, got the first of them and Fox then produced one of the best goals of the tie.

Dylan Cummins steered in a late consolation for the hosts, but Iveagh's work was done, and now, in the coming weeks and months, they are sure to grow even taller.

Cambridge Boys: Aaron Smith Evan Corcoran, Daniel Gonzalez, Oisin Sands, Joshua Butler, David Lewis, Jack Hevey, Tony Fitzpatrick, Dylan Cummins, Matthew Behan, Jack Walsh. Sean Ronan, Ronan Byrne, Karl Watson.

Iveagh Trust FC: Darren Lawlor; Craig Whelan, Brandon McGrane, Aaron Gumble, Kelan Farrell, Aidan Dunne, Jason Kong, Dylan Madden, Nathan Maguire, Jamie Crothers, Jeffrey Fox. Stephen Dillon, Lee Moran, Sean Murray, Dale Smith.

Referee: Tony Smyth.