| 2.6°C Dublin

O'Leary gem sees Arklow advance

AS THE LAST WDSL club standing in SFAI National Cup competitions, Arklow Town will fly the Wicklow flag.

And their Under 16's are already through to the last sixteen of the Barry Cup having defeated Templemore 4-1 at the Bridgewater Centre Park last week.

The Black and White's took a 12th minute lead in their round of 32 contest when Mark Hardy struck a fine effort low in from the edge of the area.

Two goals either side of half time by Adam Moorehouse looked to have sealed victory.

But the Tipperary side pulled one back before home substitute goalkeeper Cian Ryan then pulled off an excellent save to deny the visitors a second score.

However, the 'Town capped a great display with a memorable fourth late on.

Ryan Byrne swept up-field to pick out Darragh O'Leary. The left winger left three opponents in his wake before bursting into the box to beat a couple more defenders before slotting to the net.

The victory sets up a away clash in the last 16 which is provisionally fixed for Saturday/Sunday February 20th or 21st.

But their opposition is still unknown as Knocknacarra are still to host the winners of Ashbourne United and Evergreen.

Early strike ends Town's SFAI Norton Cup interest

THERE WAS DISAPPOINTMENT though as Arklow Town Under 12 A's bowed out of the Norton Cup last week.

A early strike gave DDSL outfit Cherry Orchard a 1-0 victory at the Bridgewater Centre Park in their last 32 encounter.

However, the club can still look to their Under 14's and Under 15's for further glory.

The 14's have reached the last 32 of the Goodson Cup and will travel to take on Barna United, Tuam Celtic or Temple Villa.

As for the 15's in the Evans Cup, the will have home advantage in the last 36 against Cregmore with a home tie with Newbridge Town awaiting the winners.

New divisions added

THE LATEST REGRADE in the Under 8 section took place recently which saw the inclusion of two new Division's.

With the Orange 5 and 6 now added, a total of 48 teams will take part in 12 sections with each Division comprising of four teams.

The list of the new formations is as follows:

U8 Green: Ardmore Rov A, Wolfe Tone A, Arklow Town A, Greystones Utd A.

U8 White: Wicklow Rov A Wolfe Tone B, Greystones Utd B, Ardmore Rov B.

U8 Gold: Ashford Rov A, St Anthonys A, Aughrim Rgs A, Wicklow Rov B.

U8 Red: Newtown, Wicklow Town, Arklow Town B, Ardmore Rov C.

U8 Yellow: St. Patricks, Carnew, Enniskerry A, Greystones Utd C.

U8 Blue: Roundwood, Greystones Utd D, St. Peters Bhoys A, Wolfe Tone C.

U8 Orange 1: Avonmore, Greystones Utd E, Wicklow Rov D, Wicklow Rov C.

U8 Orange 2: Enniskerry B, Arklow Utd, St. Fergals, Rathnew.

U8 Orange 3: Enniskerry C, Arklow Town C, Coolboy Rgs, Wicklow Rov E.

U8 Orange 4: Wolfe Tone D, Arklow Town D, Ashford Rov B, Enniskerry D.

U8 Orange 5: Ashford Rov C, Glencormac Utd A, Arklow Town E, St. Peters Bhoys B.

U8 Orange 6: Arklow Town F, St. Anthonys B, Arklow Town G, Glencormac Utd B.