| 10.1°C Dublin

odlum rattles in title decider

Conor O'Toole-Odlum's first half strike steered Newtown Juniors to the Heatons/Sportworld WDSL Under 9 Division 1 league title.

Needing just a draw to lift the trophy, the visitors came out on top in a tight affair at the Arklow Community College yesterday afternoon against Arklow Town B.

The fixture had been postponed no less than four times previous. But the crucial score arrived five minutes before half-time.

After a fine solo run, O'Toole-Odlum lashed a low right footed shot to the net.

They began the season back in September with a 4-0 away triumph over Enniskerry SFC A with Cian Walsh, Melanie Clarke, Adam Heffernan and O'Toole-Odlum on the mark at Ballyman Road.

A week later, the Red and Black's registered their first success at home at the Community Grounds Walsh, O'Toole-Odlum and Daniel Testa found the net as they saw off Arklow by a 3-1 score-line.

And the Juniors notched their third victory of the month by defeating Avonmore FC 2-0 at Avondale House thanks to Walsh's double.

October started in a similar vein with a 4-0 home success over Wicklow Rovers B.

There was two more goals for O'Toole-Odlum with Heffernan and Sean Byrne also scoring.

Back to back wins over Greystones United B followed.

Heffernan claimed the only goal in the 1-0 victory at the Woodlands while Lee Turner, O'Toole-Odlum and Heffernan netting a week later in the reverse fixture a week later.

The Juniors only loss came at the end of October.

Despite Walsh and Heffernan scoring, they went down 3-2 to Wicklow Rovers at the Hockey Pitch in Dunbur.

In what turned out to be their only blemish at the Community Grounds, Newtown had to settle for a point after a 3-3 draw with Avonmore.

Heffernan's double and a Lee Turner single accounted for their tally in what was their only outing of last November.

In their last home game before Christmas, and only match in December, Walsh (2), Clarke and Magee shared the goals in a 4-0 win against Enniskerry.

After completing their scheduled ten fixtures, their record is won eight, draw one and lost one.

In total, they scored 26 goals, conceded nine and kept six clean sheets.

And were also unbeaten at home at the Community Grounds, taking 13 of the 15 points on offer.

The Newtown panel consists of Joseph McDonald, Jack Doyle, Ryan Murphy, Darren Magee, Melanie Clarke, Cian Walsh, Lee Turner, Adam Heffernan, Conor O'Toole-Odlum, Tadhg O'Connor, Sean Byrne and Daniel Testa.

They are managed by Darren Magee with his Assistant being Philip McDonald.

* In order to force a play-off for the runners-up position, Arklow must win their last two matches to finish level on points with Greystones United B. Six points currently separate the sides. And the 'Town must defeat Enniskerry A at home and Wicklow Rovers B away at the Hockey Pitch in Dunbur.