| 13.2°C Dublin

Newtown sink Glenview to claim McEvoy Premier title

NEWTOWN UNITED created history on Sunday May 16th when they won the Andy McEvoy Premier Division for the very first time in their 40th anniversary season.

Jason Collins bagged a brace as they overcame former champions Glenview FC 4-1 at the Matt Kelly Memorial Grounds.

Paudie Doyle and Shane Mooney also scored in what was United's seventh straight top-flight and their 14th victory from 18 league matches.

Previously on Tuesday May 11th, John Heffernan netted four times in a 6-1 home success over St. Anthony's.

Ross Odlum and Paudie Doyle also scored for the Magpies who've already won the Charlie Bishop.

In the race for second place, defending champions St. Peter's Bhoys were denied runners-up by John Fennell's late equaliser at Bridgewater Centre.

Jamie Kelly had given the Saint's the lead on Tuesday May 18th last.

The same evening, Glenview overcame St. Anthony's 5-0 thanks to a Kieran 'Tarzan' O'Brien double.

Jay McLoughlin, Graham McCormack and Robbie Healy also netted at Finn Park in Kilcoole.

It means the two Bray side's are level and points and must now play-off.

Avonmove make it a double with league title

JUST A WEEK after lifting the Thomas Scott Cup, Avonmore FC made it a double by winning the Division 2 league title.

They picked up three points courtesy of a walk-over against Arklow United from their proposed meeting at Ferndale Park.

The Rathdrum side then defeated Seaview Wanderers 2-1 at the Leisure Centre in Arklow thanks to go by Oliver Byrne, Paul Gahan at Tuesday May 12th.

And the Yellow and Blacks then played out a 3-3 draw last Sunday week (May 16th ) with BBK United at Brittas Park with Bernie Byrne Junior (2) and Shane Byrne on the mark for the visitors.

Then to rubberstamp everything, Oliver Byrne claimed two more on Tuesday May 18th in a 2-0 away triumph over East Coast Albion at the Charlesland Recreational Park.

* The runners-up slot was due to be decided yesterday (May 23rd) between BBK United and Fassaroe Youth Club with the winners at Brittas Park taking the second promotion place on offer.

Town take youths crown

ELSEWHERE, Arklow Town A won the Youth Under 18 title after they defeated Wicklow Town 7-0 on Monday May 10th at the Bridgewater Centre Park.

Daragh Culleton rattled in a treble with Dara Verney bagging a brace. Jonathan Kelty and Keith Armstrong added the other two singles.

They followed that with a 5-2 success over their club-mates of the B's on Monday May 17th.

Kelty helped himself to a treble with Irish College's international pair James Scallan and Daniel Ledwith also on the mark.

With three matches remaining against AFC Belgrave and Aughrim Rangers, the Black and White's record is played 13; won 13 (including five walk-over's).

Yet in the other nine games, they've still scored a staggering 71 goals, conceded just five and kept five clean sheets.

The two results means that Arklow B must overcome both Wicklow Town

and AFC Belgrave to force a play-off for the runners-up position against Wicklow.