| 17.8°C Dublin

Leinster Senior Cup makes a return

After a decade of being locked away from the spotlight, the Leinster Senior Cup will be dusted down and brought out of the footballing shadows in the New Year.

It has been ten long years since this famous old trophy was last contested when the LSL's Wayside Celtic triumphed over League of Ireland side Athlone Town.

Since then the trophy has been laid up in cold storage but next year Peter Lennon's Wayside will finally get their chance to defend the title they won by two goals to one on an emotional night in Whitehall.

Lennon was in charge on that famous night for the Jackson Park side and he will again lead his team into a first round draw that will include fellow LSL sides Bangor Celtic, Bluebell United and Tolka Rovers, last season's Senior Division top four.

The four LSL sides will be joined in the first round by last season's Leinster Junior Cup finalists, Ballymun United and St. Kevin's Boys, both of the AUL and two as yet unnamed A championship sides.

The four winners in the first round will advance onto the next round were they will be place into the draw drum along side the twelve Leinster based League of Ireland clubs.