| 13.5°C Dublin

Leeson's strike denies Eleson

THey say that fortune favours the brave but unfortunately for Eleson fortune deserted them as they took on senior division side, Coill Dubh who are 25 places above them in the league standings in this nine-goal thriller.

TJ Moore put Coill Dubh a goal up after only five minutes and all seemed to be going to plan for the senior division kingpins when Trevor Bowers finished a fine move five minutes later to give his side a 2-0 lead.

United, however, were back in the game when Wayne Bowers steered a cross past 'keeper Gavin Craig in the 21st minute.

Trevor Bowers was now beginning to show the class that made him a favourite at Station Road when he succeeded in restoring his side's two-goal cushion with a fine goal in the 29th minute.

The home side, however, had no intentions of rolling over and Wayne Bowers netted his second when he took advantage of an error by 'keeper Gavin Craig to put the minimum between the sides.

However, Eleson then leveled on 43 minutes when Wayne Bowers completed his hat-trick following good work down the right by Daniel Brady and Paul Swords.

Minutes later, Shane Buckley slid the ball past 'keeper Craig for the underdogs.

The Division 2 side were now on top and it looked as if Coill Dubh were about to make their exit from the League Cup. However, they won a corner on the left with two minutes remaining and Mark Gill rose at the back post to head home.

Worse was to follow for United when Damien Leeson weaved his way through the Eleson defence in injury-time to slot the winner past Glen Smullen and give Coill Dubh a win that they scarcely deserved and a place in the quarter finals.

Coill Dubh AFC: Gavin Craig, Mickey Moran, Mark Gill, Mickey Behan, Alan Mitchell, Michael Sullivan, Tom Sullivan, Aneas Murphy, Tim J Moore, Trevor Bowers, Damien Leeson. Subs: Joey Behan, John Sullivan, Noel Byrne, Paudie O'Neill, Mark Grace.

Eleson United: Glen Smullen, Joe Kenny, Sean Greville, Vincent Swords, Sean Leeson, Daniel Brady, Shane Buckley, Joe Bowers (jnr), Paul Swords, Wayne Bowers, Ciaran Bowers. Subs: Paul Mullins, Joe Bowers (snr), Jonathan Hammill, David Tierney, Jimmy Langton.

Referee: Peter Moore.