| 6.8°C Dublin

Late burst of form bags Division 3 for Carnew

CARNEW AFC pipped Rathnew AFC to the Division 3 title as they won their last two league matches in the past week.

First they defeated Aughrim Rangers 2-1 at the Back Alley on Wednesday May 19th thanks to goals by Clinton Murphy (his 22nd in all competitions) and Eugene Jordan.

They followed that with a 3-0 away success over Conary United on Sunday May 23rd last.

Sean Kinsella's double was added to by a Keith Osbourne single.

It meant Carnew finished one point ahead of Rathnew for the trophy.

However, the Villagers were aggrieved by the fact the Carnew picked up walk-over's - from Clash Celtic, Wicklow Rovers, Enniskerry FC and Fairwood Celtic - from four of their last 11 games.

Doyle double sees Town take runners-up spot

WICKLOW TOWN secured the runners-up spot in the U18 Youth Division after leaving the Bridgewater Centre Park with a vital draw against Arklow Town B.

In their last league outing of the season, the away side took the lead through Sean Knowd last Monday (May 24th) before the section's top-scorer Trevor Doyle took his tally to 14 when making it 2-0.

However, Adam Browne and Rory Bain drew Arklow B level. But they needed to win, and also defeat AFC Belgrave in their last fixture in order to force a play-off with Wicklow.

Charlie Bishop Cup line-up revealed

SEVENTEEN teams will contest the 2010/11 Charlie Bishop Cup after the top four placings in the four senior Divisions were finalised this week.

By virtue of securing a walk-over from Jim McLaughlin Premier Trophy champions Wicklow Town last Thursday (May 27), Shillelagh United have finished in joint fourth position with Arklow Town.

As goal difference does not count in such matters, both teams will enter the competition next season.

Elsewhere, Enniskerry FC finished their debut campaign in fourth spot in Division 3.

That's after they picked all three points from their proposed clash with Fairwood Celtic last Sunday week (May 23rd).

Fairwood - the Charlie Byrne Cup champions - did not contest the match at the Ballywaltrim Recreational Park in Bray.

A win for the visitors would have seen them take fourth place. It all means that an open preliminary round fixture will be held, with the winners qualifying for the first round draw.

The full list of qualifiers is as follows:

Andy McEvoy Prem Div: Newtown Utd, Glenview FC, St. Peter's Bhoys, Arklow Town A, Shillelagh Utd.

Pat O'Toole Div 1: Enniskerry YC, Sugarloaf FC, Wicklow Rov A, Arklow Town B.

Div 2: Avonmore FC, BBK Utd, Fassaroe YC A, Seaview Wdrs, Newtown Utd B.

Div 3: Carnew AFC, Rathnew AFC B, Wicklow Rov B, Enniskerry FC.

'View and Saints share

It was agreed by the Wicklow League Executive Committee this week that both Glenview FC and St. Peter's Bhoys will share second place in the Andy McEvoy Premier Division.

And no runners-up play-off will take place.